Nominees for CCC board await Schaefer's return Commissioners recommend 7 to governor

June 17, 1993|By Anne Haddad | Anne Haddad,Staff Writer

Officials at Carroll Community College are in suspense over appointments to the institution's new board of trustees until Gov. William Donald Schaefer returns next week from a trip to Slovenia.

The county commissioners have recommended seven people to the governor, Commissioner Elmer C. Lippy told the current advisory board last night.

He would not name those who were recommended, but said nearly all are members of the college's advisory board.

Barbara Charnock of Eldersburg, the advisory board chairwoman, said she believes the governor will select board members who represent different sections of the county. She has applied for a trustee position.

Advisory board members seemed excited about bringing independence to the college, which has long operated as a branch of Catonsville Community College.

The board has acted as a local board of trustees, but its operating decisions had to be approved by the Baltimore County Community College board of trustees and the Carroll commissioners.

The new board of trustees, which will have fewer members but more authority, will meet early in July. Nine advisory board members have applied for the seven trustee seats.

Those who are not named to the board, and others who did not seek trustee positions, will be needed on several advisory committees, said Joseph F. Shields, the college's executive dean.

"Everyone is still needed, no matter whom the governor decides to appoint," Mrs. Charnock said.

Among the new board's first duties will be to appoint a president of the college.

Dr. Shields has said he would like to continue as the college's top administrator.

The 19-member advisory board included representatives from government, business, education and health agencies, and the community.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.