Pupils win environmental scholarships

June 13, 1993|By Staff Report

Twelve Harford County high school students recentl received a total of $14,000 in college scholarships for excellence in environmental study and awareness.

The students were honored May 26 at a reception sponsored by the Susquehannock Environmental Center, a nonprofit recycling facility near Bel Air that also promotes environmental education.

The third annual scholarship program was sponsored jointly by the center and the Harford County school system, with help from local businesses.

The scholarship recipients, many of them participants in ecology clubs at their schools, "were really inspirational with their peers," said Bob Chance, president of Susquehannock Environmental Center and an environmental educator in the school system.

"They are true unsung heroes, authentic spokesmen for environmental awareness," Mr. Chance said of the students.

The winners were chosen based on their performance in a countywide environmental competition involving their knowledge of wildlife, wetlands and other topics. They also were chosen based on volunteer work, such as setting up nest boxes for birds and other wildlife or building nature trails, Mr. Chance said.

Money for the scholarships came partly from a student campaign during the 1992-1993 school year to collect aluminum cans and scrap aluminum for recycling. The campaign raised $10,000 through the sale of the aluminum, Mr. Chance said.

Half of the money raised went to the ecology clubs at each of the nine high schools and half went to the scholarship fund. Local businesses also contributed to the scholarship fund.

Two students, Ray Bivens of Joppatowne High and Brent Thomas of C. Milton Wright High, were recognized as countywide scholarship winners. They each received $2,500.

Two other students at C. Milton Wright, Amy Betten and James Turnes, split a $1,000 award.

The eight other winners, all of whom received $1,000 each, are Jennifer Kravitz of Aberdeen High; Caryn Gural of Bel Air High; Eric Nitsch of Edgewood High; Kevin Richardson of Fallston High; Stephanie Maines of Harford Technical; Bradley Gladfelter of Havre de Grace High; Joanna Rawlings of Joppatowne High; and April Bogert of North Harford High.

Two county teachers also were recognized at the May 26 reception.

Carolyn Lipscomb, teacher-in-charge of outdoor education at Harford Glen, was given the elementary environmental educator of the year award. Steve Hillyer of Joppatowne High was given the secondary school environmental educator of the year award.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.