Devereaux paying way for state all-star team HIGH SCHOOLS

June 08, 1993|By Pat O'Malley | Pat O'Malley,Staff Writer

Orioles center fielder Mike Devereaux did more than help introduce Team Maryland and the Crown All-Stars yesterday at a Camden Yards news conference. He also is putting Team

Maryland on the road.

Devereaux presented a check for $12,000 for a group of Maryland all-stars to travel to a tournament in Stillwater, Okla.

"I know what something like this means to the kids, because I never got to play high school baseball and got my exposure in [American] Legion ball and the NCAA World Series," said Devereaux, who is from Wyoming.

Mount St. Joseph coach Dave Norton introduced the North and South squads for the Crown All-Star Game, to be played July 18 at Camden Yards after the Orioles-Minnesota Twins game. Seven players from high school championship teams, five from the North squad, were among 30 named to the teams.

Maryland Scholastic Association A Conference champion Calvert Hall placed three players on the North squad, pitcher Brian Matz and infielders Larry Marino and Josh Itzoe, and MSA runner-up McDonogh placed pitcher Kenny Cloude.

Cloude was chosen in the sixth round by the Seattle Mariners in last week's amateur draft, and Itzoe was taken on the 40th round by the Orioles.

The North squad also has two members of state Class 3A champion Lansdowne, pitcher Brian Sullivan and outfielder/pitcher Randy Musgrove.

First baseman Buddy Edmond of state private school champion Mount St. Joseph also made the North team, along with Patterson outfielder John Sauer. Sauer was drafted on the 28th round by the Chicago Cubs.

State 4A champion Arundel placed two players among five from Anne Arundel County on the 15-man South squad. First baseman-pitcher Tim Giles, who was selected on the 43rd round by the Orioles, and catcher Mike Cozzone made the club. Giles was named as an outfielder to make room for North Caroline first baseman Jeff Dean.

Eleven of the Crown All-Stars also will play on the 20-member Team Maryland squad, which will play June 23-28 at Oklahoma (( State in the Sun Belt Classic against teams from the host state, California, Texas, Ohio, Georgia and defending champion Florida.


NORTH Pitchers

Kenny Cloude McDonogh

Brian Matz Calvert Hall

Brian Sullivan Lansdowne

Chris Archambault Westminster


Brian Yanick South Carroll

Ron Green Patterson


Buddy Edmond Mount St. Joseph

Jeff Berman Dulaney

Larry Marino Calvert Hall

Josh Itzoe Calvert Hall

Chris Mills North Harford


John Sauer Patterson

Randy Musgrove Lansdowne

Rodney Petitt Woodlawn

Jason Frushour Frederick


Al Poklemba McDonogh

Roger Wrenn Patterson

Jimmy Foit Thomas Johnson



Joe York North County

Jeff Lewis Glenelg

Ryan Lambert Paint Branch

Jason Smithberger Watkins Mill


John Milisitz Severna Park

Mike Cozzone Arundel


Jeff Dean North Caroline

John Poss DeMatha

Jeff Cisar Gaithersburg

Matt Egan Paint Branch

Corey Hoch James M. Bennett


Tim Giles Arundel

Lee Haney Old Mill

Chris Junghans McDonough

Robert Simpson Riverdale Baptist


Joe Foltz South Carroll

Harry Lentz Northeast

Jeff Warfle Brunswick


Pitchers Brian Matz, Calvert Hall; Jeff Berman, Dulaney; Brian Sullivan and Randy Musgrove, Lansdowne; Chris Archambault, Westminster; Jason Smithberger, Watkins Mill; Tim Jones,

Riverdale Baptist; Ryan Lambert, Paint Branch.


John Milisitz, Severna Park; Mike Doyle, Parkside; Chris Junghans, McDonough.


Buddy Edmond, Mount St. Joseph; Larry Marino, Calvert Hall; Matt Egan, Paint Branch; Jeff Cisar, Gaithersburg; Demond Robinson, James M. Bennett.


John Sauer, Patterson; Rodney Petitt, Woodlawn; Gary Dorsey, Westminster; Eric Frazier, Gaithersburg.


Jim Miller, C. Milton Wright; Rod Cameron, Cardinal Gibbons; Joe Denton, Calvert (County); Paul Fahrner, Paint Branch

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.