20th anniversary fete planned for Phelps Luck Elementary EAST COLUMBIA


June 01, 1993|By NATALIE HARVEY

Alumni, families, friends, neighbors, faculty and students are invited to help celebrate Phelps Luck Elementary School's 20th Anniversary on Thursday from 9:30 a.m to 1 p.m.

Students will be the official guides during the Open House. Alumni can meet and greet teacher Arlete Hurt, who taught second grade when the school opened and has now "passed" to fourth grade.

Barbara Garnes is current principal, and Betty King came from retirement to be her temporary "acting principal".

It is hoped that all former principals, David MacPherson (Thunder Hill Elementary), Thomas Bruner (Swansfield Elementary), Don VanOstrand (Human Resources, Howard County Public School System), Barry Taylor, (Atholton Elementary) and John Wineke (Northfield Elementary) will be present to reminiscence with former students.

Mr. MacPherson remembers visiting the school before it opened. "There were no walls or partitions to separate classrooms. It was the first 'open design' to be used in Howard County,' he said.

For Information, call 313-6886.

Kindergarten students at Stevens Forest Elementary School will attend their "Author's Luncheon" at the school June 11.

Parents, grandparents, families and friends are invited to hear students read one of their books. Children in the morning classes will read at 10:30 a.m. and the afternoon class will read at 2:30 p.m.

Each student has written and illustrated five books during the school year; some have included "invented spelling."

After the "readings", the audience and authors will celebrate with refreshments while perusing a display of the students' books, which were written with the guidance of kindergarten teachers Michelle Kupiec and Grace Derenberger.

The student-authors are: Patrick Bennett, Christina Boussy, Shannon Cummins, Jenny Keddell, Johann Kim, Scott Kimber, Steven Manis, Tyler Selby, Crystal Starace, Amanda Thiem, Jessica Vallamor, Paige Walter, Amanda Wilson, Jon Bellora, Jeremi Lewis, Merry Avant-Pybas, Rachael Beroes-Dodson, Robbie Black, Jamie Buonoito, Jessie Dexheimer, Kelley Dispenza, Leanne Estabrook, Mookie Golden, Grant Haywood, Kazim Lakhani, Sean Martin, Michael Nathan, Tiffany Pierson, John Stanley, Ursula Stamp, Jerome Bennett, Kristina Zanker; Afternoon Class- Asha Benjamin, Evan Douglas, Shaun Dubick, Andrew Fenner, Elizabeth Harding, Evan Hartranft, Trevor Hawkes, Garrison Hersey, Ashley Johnston, Peter Linton, Amanda Mezei, Timothy Murphy, David Ostrander, Billy Rademacher, Sean Rogers, Marc Schulman, Sara Smith, Brett Strand and Daniel Stryker.

Applications are being accepted for the three Oakland Mills Half-Day Summer Camp sessions for 3- to 8-year-olds. Camps will include arts, crafts, nature study, games, singing, swimming and creative drama.

Sessions at Talbot Springs Neighborhood Center (for 3- and 4-year-olds) and Stevens Forest Neighborhood Center (for 5-year-olds) are scheduled from 9:30 a.m to 12:45 p.m.

At Thunderhill Neighborhood Center (for 6- to 8-year-olds) camp is scheduled from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Brochures and information: 730-4610.

Parents and children interested in the Stevens Forest Neighborhood Swim Team are invited to attend an organizational meeting tomorrow at 7:30 p.m. at the pool. Information: 964-1179 or 730-5452.

Summer Reading Programs (sponsored by The Sun for Howard County): "Read All About It" and "The Sun Helps Me Grow" begin today and end Aug. 28 at the Howard County branch libraries.

Book lists are provided according to age group. Students completing the program will receive a certificate and a letter to

their schools.

Young adult parishioners of St. John the Evangelist Roman Catholic Church who were confirmed on May 16 at Oakland Mills Meeting House by Bishop P. Francis Murphy were: Andea

Allocco, Michael Austin, Aaron Broderick, Nancy Browne, Sara Buckley, Kelly Burke, Ervin Caballes, Andrew Call, Lisa Cline, Dennis Cole, Matthew Conrad, Jonathan Cowles, Kevin Cummings, Jeffrey Curtis, Marissa DeLeos, Anthony DeSantis, Frank DeSantis, Jennifer DeYoung, Micaela Duffy, Christopher Duke, Michael Fellows, Kelly Fenton, Michael Ficca, John Forrest, Matthew French, Eamon Gallagher, Elizabeth Golibersuch, Jennifer Hartnett, Siobhan Hayes, Geoffrey Henderson, Jeremy Hope, Samuel Horstman, Jennifer Joyce, Damian Kapcala, David Kardos, Katherine Kile, Christopher Kurcz, Maria Lui, Kevin Mack, Adam Martiny, John Martone, Heather Mennell, Shannon Mennell, Lisen Miller, John Mimm, William Moore, Keith Murphy, James Nagle, Robin Nelson, Linh Nguyen, Colleen Nugent, Zachary Olds, Gavin Philipp, Jill Posek, Jonathan Roeder, Maria Romano, Kimberly Ruprecht, Peter Sheldon, Andrew Shackelford, Christopher Stiehl, Lauren Strobel, Karen Sutton, John Tasevoli, Bethany Thompson, Anne Tiburzi, Thomas Timbario, Nucleo Vega and Alyssa Weller.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.