Indianapolis 500 Drivers

May 30, 1993

Profiles of the field for today's race, with driver's name, age, home, car number, car type and qualifying speed:

Row 1

1.Arie Luyendyk, 39, Netherlands, No. 10, Lola-Ford Cosworth, 223.967 mph: Posted the first of his three IndyCar victories in the 1990 Indy 500. Won at Phoenix and Nazareth, Pa., in 1991. The Indy 500 and series Rookie of the Year in 1985.

2. Mario Andretti, 53, Nazareth, Pa., No. 6, Lola-Ford Cosworth, 223.414: Starting his 28th Indy 500, second only to A. J. Foyt's 35. Won in 1969, finished second in 1981. Was 1984 IndyCar series champion, led 170 laps in 1987 before finishing ninth when car went dead.

3. Raul Boesel, 35, Brazil. No. 9, Lola-Ford Cosworth, 222.379: A third in 1989 is his best finish in six appearances. A second in Detroit last year is his best IndyCar finish in 91 starts. Began racing in 1979 and in 1980 drove a Formula Ford to nine victories.

Row 2

4.Scott Goodyear, 33, Canada, No. 2, Lola-Ford Cosworth, 222.344: Began racing in a Formula Ford in 1980. Drove his first IndyCar race at the Meadowlands in 1987, and finished 10th as a rookie here in 1990. Started 33rd and finished second to Al Unser Jr. by .043 of a second in the closest Indianapolis 500 ever last year.

5. Al Unser Jr., 31, Albuquerque, N.M., No. 3, Lola-Chevrolet C, 221.773: Seeking to become the first back-to-back winner at Indianapolis since his father, Al Sr., in 1971. Finished 10th as a rookie in 1983, fourth in 1987, second in 1989, when he crashed after leading with two laps left, and fourth in 1991 and 1990. Recorded six victories in 1990, including a record four straight en route to capturing the series championship.

6. Stefan Johansson, 36, Sweden (living in Monte Carlo), No. 16, Penske-Chevrolet C, 220.824: Won British Formula Three championship with six victories in 1980, third in Formula Two in 1981. Campaigned in Formula One in 1983-91. Finished third in his debut on IndyCar circuit at Detroit last year. Was 1992 IndyCar Rookie of the Year.

Row 3

7.Paul Tracy, 24, Canada, No. 12, Penske-Chevrolet C, 220.298: Finished 20th as a rookie last year. Youngest driver to win Canadian Formula Ford title at age 16, with 14 victories in 20 races in 1985, and youngest winner in Can Am history in 1986.

8. Nigel Mansell, 39, England (living in Clearwater, Fla.), No. 5, Lola-Ford Cosworth, 220.255: Reigning Formula One champion replaced Michael Andretti on Newman-Haas team. Finished second to Ayrton Senna in 1991 Formula One circuit and dominated in 1992, breaking Senna's record with nine victories. Drove at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the first time May 12.

9. Emerson Fittipaldi, 46, Brazil (living in Miami Beach, Fla.), No. 4, Penske-Chevrolet C, 220.150: Won 1989 Indy PPG Cup championship with five victories, including Indianapolis.

Row 4

10.Roberto Guerrero, 34, San Juan Capistrano, Calif., No. 40, Lola-Chevrolet C, 219.645: Was second twice, third and fourth in first four Indy 500 starts. IndyCar series Rookie of the Year, shared Indy 500 rookie honors in 1984. Finished last in 1992 when he crashed on the parade lap.

11. Scott Brayton, 34, Coldwater, Mich., No. 22, Lola-Ford Cosworth, 219.637: Finished 16th as a rookie in 1981.

12. Danny Sullivan, 43, Aspen, Colo., No. 7, Lola-Chevrolet C, 219.428: Had two victories, two seconds and a third in 1990, but left Penske Racing and then struggled with Alfa Romeo. Won 1985 Indy 500.

Row 5

13.Nelson Piquet, 40, Brazil, No. 77, Lola-Menard, 217.949: Three-time Formula One champion. Has never driven an Indy car in a race. Was injured during practice at Indianapolis last year and hasn't raced since.

14. Kevin Cogan, 37, Palos Verdes Estates, Calif., No. 11, Lola-Chevrolet C, 217.230: Driving in his first race since sustaining multiple fractures from a crash in the 1991 race. Never officially began that race after losing control of his car on the pace lap, triggering an accident that knocked four cars out of the race.

15. Stephan Gregoire, 24, France, No. 36, 1992 Lola-Buick, 220.851: Youngest driver in the race and the fastest of five rookie qualifiers. Drove French Formula Renault series in 1989 and won French Formula Three B title with nine victories in 1990. Is in his first IndyCar race.

Row 6

16.Jeff Andretti, 29, Nazareth, Pa., No. 21, 1992 Lola-Buick, 220.572: The youngest son of Mario Andretti joins his father in the race for the third consecutive year. Rookie of the Year at Indianapolis after finishing 15th in 1991. Driving first race since sustaining extensive injuries to both lower legs, ankles and feet in a crash at Indianapolis last year.

17. Teo Fabi, 38, Italy, No. 8, Lola-Chevrolet C, 220.514: Back on ++ the IndyCar circuit full time after driving only one race last year. Made Indy debut in 1983 and won pole with one- and four-lap records, the first rookie to capture the pole since 1950.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.