25 Years Ago* The Carroll County Teachers Association has...


May 16, 1993

25 Years Ago

* The Carroll County Teachers Association has accepted a salary offer by the County Commissioners, with the base pay beginning at $6,080. The teachers voted to accept the $5,217,600 package deal with the Board of Education, proposed index, which averages a 6 percent increase to all teachers in the county. The teachers returned to their classrooms on Monday morning, resulting from a two-day moratorium, following a meeting

Saturday. -- Democratic Advocate, May 9, 1968.

50 Years Ago

* The Westminster Deposit & Trust Company on Monday held its annual stockholders meeting. The bank showed a prosperous year of business through its report from Treasurer Herbert C. Belt. The directors elected were: William E. Roop, Charles Barnes, Joseph L. Mathias, Jacob Brehm, Edgar Schaeffer and Edward O. Diffendal. The officers elected were: Joseph L. Mathias Sr., president; Edw. O. Diffendal, first vice president; Paul F. Kuhns, second vice president; Herbert C. Belt, secretary-treasurer; D. Eugene Walsh, counsel, and U.S. Ebaugh and LaRue Seipp, tellers. -- Democratic Advocate, May 7, 1943.

75 Years Ago

* Our young friend, D. Ernest Byers, who enlisted in the Navy seven months ago, has a 10-day furlough. He was on a visit to see his old friends. He spent a few days with Walter Engle and family and Dr. A. P. Albaugh, who raised him; also some time with Mr. and Mrs. John Drach, and Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Houck. He left on the 10 o'clock Pittsburgh train Sunday morning, May the 5, for the Great Lakes training camp where he had been training. From there, he expects to have to go to France. We wish him good luck and hope he may be spared to return to us again in the future. -- Democratic Advocate, May 10, 1918.

Compiled from the archives of the Historical Society of Carroll County.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.