North Laurel/savage

May 13, 1993

Fire company picks president

Jim Arndt, a member of the 80-member Savage Volunteer Fire Company since 1983, has been elected to serve as its president for the next 12 months.

Also, Ernest Foster was chosen to serve a third consecutive term as chief.

Mr. Arndt has served three previous terms as president, most recently from May 1990 to May 1991. A firefighter III and emergency medical technician, he has also served the company as treasurer and lieutenant.

A 20-year member, Mr. Foster has served as chief since July 1991. He has worked to improve officer training and the company's duty crew program.

Other newly elected officers are Norman Wines, deputy chief; Frank Baker and Kevin Larkins, assistant chiefs; Monroe Fesser, captain; Ray Wines, Mark Thornton and Kris Sherman, lieutenants; and Paul Epstein, EMS lieutenant.

Also taking office are Alan Conway, vice president; Alan Grimes, treasurer; Kimberly Hurley, secretary; Doug Levy, board member; and Mary McNamee, chaplain.

Savage is one of six volunteer fire companies in the Howard County Fire and Rescue Service.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.