Cesky awards banquet set for May 19 $5,000 scholarships to be given out

May 09, 1993

Two of Harford County's top student-athletes -- one girl and one boy -- will receive $5,000 scholarships at the eighth annual Al Cesky Scholarship Fund Awards Banquet on May 19 at the Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood.

The event, honoring 20 male and female graduating student-athletes representing the 11 high schools in Harford County, will include the presentation of $500 scholarships to the 18 finalists.

Each nominee is selected by the school's faculty on the basis of sever

al criteria, including athletic achievement, academic achievement, community service and financial need.

This year's nominees are Lanell Ward and Zack Fowl, Aberdeen; Jen Emig and Timothy Hintz, Bel Air; Julie Jakum and Chad Boyle, C. Milton Wright; Nicole Chmura and Jim Morrison, Edgewood; Pam Toth and Dan Bowers, Fallston; Jen Kreisel, Harford Christian; Jason Snyder, Harford Tech; Kerrie Bauer and James Jenkins, Havre de Grace; Amy Dean and Jeff Raymond, John Carroll; Crystal Carr and Chris Carr, Joppatowne; and Chrissy Pardew and Chris Mills, North Harford.

The awards honor Al Cesky, a former Bel Air High football and baseball coach who later was supervisor of physical education and athletics for the county.

Cesky died of a heart attack in 1985. Soon after Cesky's death, former players, friends and associates formed the Al Cesky Scholarship Fund Inc.

For ticket information and reservations, call (410) 838-6787.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.