Olympian Brady leads Lasers after two races in Annapolis

May 02, 1993|By Nancy Noyes | Nancy Noyes,Contributing Writer

Annapolitan Jim Brady, 1992 Olympic silver medalist in the Soling class, led the 54-boat Gold Fleet of the Laser Atlantic Coast Championship with finishes of second and third yesterday off Annapolis.

Californian Nick Adamson, who won the first race, and Floridian Peter Dreyfuss, winner of the second race, are in eighth and seventh places, respectively.

"You had to get to the right on the beats," Brady said, "because there was less current against you."

In the first race, Brady capsized near the starting line, but was able to work from about 40th to 17th at the first mark and continued to pick off the competition to finish second.

In the second race, Brady said, things went more conventionally for him, but getting to the favored right side was less of an advantage.

In the 60-boat Silver Fleet, Julia Trotman of Annapolis, 1992 Olympic bronze medalist in the Europe Dinghy class, won both races.



1. Jim Brady, Annapolis, 5 (2-3); 2. Peter Renehan, Greenwich, Conn., 7 (3-4); 3. Henry Filter, Stevensville, 14 (5-9); 4. Philip Karcher, Spring Lake Heights, N.J., 19 (17-2); 5. Al Girard, Annapolis, 19 (4-15); 6. Max Skelley, Havre de Grace, 20 (13-7); 7. Peter Dreyfuss, Miami, 22.75 (22-1); 8. Nick Adamson, Newport Beach, Calif., 24.75 (1-24); 9. Andy Lovell, New Orleans, 25 (15-10); 10. Dave Applegate, Toms River, N.J., 26 (8-18).



1. Julia Trotman, Annapolis, 1.5 (1-1); 2. Scott Milnes, Middletown, R.I., 6 (2-4); 3. Randy Eckman, Kennett Square, Pa., 9 (6-3); 4. Nick Pullen, Halifax, NS, Can., 10 (3-7); 5. Gary Jobson, Annapolis, 15 (9-6); 6. Greg Tawaststjerna, Annapolis, 17 (12-5); 7. Bob Spillman, Bethlehem, Pa., 18 (7-11); 8. David Moorhouse, Medford, N.J., 21 (19-2); 9. John Bentley, So. Dartmouth, Mass., 21 (8-13); 10. Alden Shattuck, Annapolis, 21 (11- 10).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.