Rocket blast boosts Cub Scout event ELLICOTT CITY/ELKRIDGE


April 26, 1993|By JEAN LESLIE

On Wednesday, the Cub Scouts from Pack 944 were treated to a spectacular bridging ceremony with a "Star Wars" theme, including Klingon warriors and a rocket ship which blasted smoke in lift-off.

Charles Runkles, whose deep voice resembles that of James Earl Jones, narrated the bridging ceremony at Bethany United Methodist Church. Linda Laun and Shawn Lane, Webelos Den Leaders, presented the culmination of two years of work in the Webelos rank -- the Arrow of Light Award. Michael Clites, Joshua Cookson, Chris Foster, Shelby Lane, Gergory Rizzo, Michael Schoenen, Gregory Will, Scott Zielinski, Ben Carley, Ian Humphries-Russ, Clarence Jeffers, Mike Laun, Seamus Ryan, and Chris Wojtal earned the award.

After the leaders presented the award, Cub Scouts and the leaders entered a Scout-constructed spaceship for the next leg of their journey. The audience watched as the rockets blasted and white smoke signaled the launch of the spaceship, courtesy of Theatre Technical Director Stuart Dawkins of Loyola College. As the journey ended, the boys emerged from the spaceship to be greeted by Frank Ryan, Assistant Scoutmaster of their new Boy Scout troop. They came to attention and said the Scout Oath.

Surprise guests were alien visitor Klingons Bob Koblinsky and Barry Pfeffer.

Finally, the 6-year-old Tiger Cubs bridged into Cub Scouting: Danny Bianco, James Conley, Patrick Eulitt, William Martin, Ricky Nietubicz, Brett Price, Lenny Schittino, Jonathan Bernhardt, Thomas Goodman, Kirk Hines, George Maier, Danny Massa, and Jason Tucker.

Two Webelos Dens, the Sharks and the Lightnings, built the 16-foot bridge, the rocket (Starship 944) and a wall of planets representing the universe of scouting.

Centennial High School's Drama Department plans a variety show Saturday night, May 1, at 7:30 p.m. Drama director "Mo" Dutterer expects a variety of performances, including rock bands, student skits and some surprise faculty acts. He welcomes all the community to come join the fun.

Information: 313-2856.

Of the fifteen award-winning poets who read their poetry at the April 25 "Reading of Howard County Poets," Ellicott City can claim two, John M. Wesley and Kristine Holland. Jessup claims one, Barrett Warner.

Their work was chosen from manuscripts submitted to Lucille Clifton, who was Maryland's Poet Laureate for fourteen years and who also won the Shelley Award from the Poetry Society of America.

The poetry reading was held at Amherst House in Kings Contrivance Village Center, and was sponsored by the Howard County Poetry and Literature Society.

At 6 p.m. on Friday, Howard County Arts Council, located in the old Rockland Elementary School at 8510 High Ridge Road in Ellicott City, will present an opening celebration of its two new exhibits.

Shea Welsh Jazz Group will kick off the reception at 6 p.m. with contemporary music. At 7 p.m. a Gallery Talk will be held in Galleries I and II, giving the public an opportunity to meet the artists.

In addition, Kinetics Dance Theatre will hold an open rehearsal in the performance space; and piano instructors Tina Smith and Ann Honig will present student piano performances in the music studio.

Galleries I and II will feature the "10th Annual Resident Artists' Exhibition." Artists included in this year's Resident Artists' exhibition are James Adkins, Phyllis Avedon, Barbara Cooper, Julia Mallonee, Diana Marta, Diane Paroda, Keith Nichols, Leora Smith, Thomasine Spore, Mary Jo Tydlacka, Leigh Wachter, Mittie Van Nostrand and David Zuccarini.

These artists work and teach at the center studios on a part-time to full-time basis.

Many have been at the center since it opened.

HCCA Director Carla Dunlap says, "The Center has grown enormously since the first resident exhibition that featured only a few artists. Both the variety and range of artists and their work has changed."

In Gallery III a traveling exhibit entitled "Photography on the Edge," juried by critic-artist Douglas Davis, will be shown.

The National Quilting Association Gallery will display an exhibit of quilts created by the Kentucky Heritage Quilt Society.

After the opening, the exhibits will remain on display through June 9. The Center and the Galleries are open to the public Monday through Thursday, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., and Friday and Saturday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. The public is invited to visit. For information or directions, call the Arts Council office at (410) 313-2787.


The Maryland Alliance for Arts and Education held a dance program in which Mt. Hebron High School students demonstrated their creativity and competence in modern dance.

Dancers Charlie Arnaldo, Beth Blauser, Andrea Chastant, Yvonne Dea, Gina Geppi, Rinn Lawson, Kathy Logsdon, Lillian Lottes, Kyle Peppers, Leigh Selby, Hee Sung Sung and Alicia Wilhelm took part. Gina K. Thornburg choreographed the two dances in which they performed.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.