Professorships endowed at UM School of Law

April 23, 1993

An article in The Sun yesterday about endowed professorships at the University of Maryland School of Law omitted one of the eight individuals named to the positions. The professor is Mark A. Sargent.

The Sun regrets the error.

The University of Maryland School of Law has established eight endowed professorships covering areas that include public interest law, business law and legal ethics.

Tuesday's announcement was made possible by more than $2.4 million in contributions from private donors, including local foundations interested in supporting the 750-student school, based at the University of Maryland at Baltimore campus.


"To name eight professorships at one time is, I think, unheard of within the University of Maryland System and virtually unprecedented in American legal education," said Law School Dean Donald G. Gifford.

He said the law school has typically had a difficult time keeping outstanding professors from being wooed away. Given the state's fiscal problems, and the fact that the faculty has gone several years without a raise, "we were certainly faced with that prospect again," Dean Gifford said.

The contributions include $1.5 million jointly from the Jacob and Annita France Foundation and the Robert and Anne Merrick Foundations; $300,000 from the Baltimore law firm of Piper & Marbury; $300,000 from the Morton and Sophia Macht Foundation of Baltimore; and $350,000 from the estate of former Baltimore City Supreme Bench Judge Robert Stanton.

The first eight faculty members named to the professorships, beginning in the 1993 school year, are Professors David Luban, Oscar Gray, Taunya Lovell Banks, Alice Brumbaugh, Michael Milleman, Peter Quint and William Reynolds.

The endowments will provide about $10,000 each year to the endowed professors, for use in research and as a salary supplement, said Dean Gifford.

In addition, Dean Gifford announced that four faculty members will be honored with the position of "Named Scholars," funded through private gifts totaling $6,500 per year for each scholar, over a five-year period.

The named scholars are: David Bogen, John Brumbaugh, Robert Percival and Karen Rothenberg.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.