Ex-council members run for boards WEST COLUMBIA

April 21, 1993|By Adam Sachs | Adam Sachs,Staff Writer

Two former Columbia Council members who were bounced from their posts in the 1992 election are attempting a return to community service, but this time at the village board level.

James Loesch of Hickory Ridge and Michael Deets of Wilde Lake, who both served on the council from 1990 to 1992, are running for their respective village boards in the Saturday election.

Former four-year Hickory Ridge village board member Miles Coffman also is attempting a comeback, vying among a field of seven for five spots on the village board.

In Wilde Lake, the newly elected board will have to appoint a fifth member since only four candidates are running for five positions.

Mr. Loesch lost by five votes to Charles Ahalt in the 1992 council election, and Mr. Coffman fell one vote short of re-election to the village board last year. Other Hickory Ridge contenders are Martin Berlin, Phil Berman, Linda Hitzelberger, Robert Hixson and Raissa Kirk.

In Harper's Choice, four candidates, including three newcomers to village volunteer service, are running for two open seats.

Bonnie Hudak was influenced to run for the Harper's Choice village board partly as a result of a recent controversy over the Hobbit's Glen neighborhood pool. Ms. Hudak helped organize Hobbit's Glen residents to oppose a Columbia Association proposal to restrict use of the pool to adults for certain hours. Ms. Hudak says she wants to assure that "community decisions are made in a democratic manner and that they are equitable."

A second Hobbit's Glen resident, Darlind J. Davis, also is running but not because of the pool issue. She says she wants to promote more involvement among village residents in community affairs.

When Hobbit's Glen residents complained about a lack of representation concerning the pool issue, current Harper's Choice representatives noted that it has been several years since a Hobbit's Glen resident has run for village board.

Gloria Goldman says she'd like to make Harper's Choice a "safer place" by reducing crime. She also wants to promote "a return of the pioneer camaraderie amongst us neighbors; a rejuvenation of neighborhoods reaching out to each other."

Incumbent Bill McKinstray emphasized his six years' experience on the board, including two terms as chairman, and involvement in other community organizations.

In Hickory Ridge, Mr. Loesch, who had served seven years on the village board, says he wants to continue that "tradition of service." His goal is to "ensure our fair share of Columbia Association and Howard County services and amenities."

Mr. Coffman says he is concerned about traffic safety, land development and the Columbia Association's "responsiveness" to property owners. He says the board should be a "conduit" for residents' views.

Ms. Kirk says she would work to ensure that the association handles money collected through the property assessment efficiently, without compromising traditional goals for Columbia. She says she would be committed to building "a greater sense of community and involvement among village residents."

Mr. Berlin, who has performed volunteer work for the village, says, "I believe strongly in fiscal responsibility -- to get the best value from our assessment dollars."

Mr. Berman and Mr. Hixson, both incumbents, stress their involvement in overseeing projects during their tenures, including the opening of the village center, Clary's Forest pool, path and tot lots and traffic safety improvements. Mr. Hixson says traffic problems on Hickory Ridge Road and Cedar Lane must be addressed.

Ms. Hitzelberger, emphasizing her involvement as a leader in Girl Scouts and PTA groups, says she wants to broaden her involvement in the community.



Poll hours: 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Linden Hall, Dorsey's Search Village Center, 4765 Dorsey Hall Drive

Columbia Council candidates: Evelyn Richardson (I)

Village board seats open: 3

Village board candidates: Dan Bucks (I), Colin Cox (I), Ria Malloy (I)

Terms: 2 years


Poll hours: 4 p.m. to 7 p.m. Friday, in front of Valu Food, Harper's Choice Village Center; 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, same place

Columbia Council candidates: Council member John Hansen is not up for re-election

Village board seats open: 2

Village board candidates: Bill McKinstray (I), Bonnie Hudak, Darlind J. Davis, Gloria Goldman

Terms: 2 years


Poll hours: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Hawthorn Neighborhood Center, 6175 Sunny Spring

Candidates forum: 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Hawthorn Neighborhood Center.

Columbia Council candidates: Charles Ahalt (I), Mike Rethman, Mark Riso

Village board seats open: 5

Village board candidates: Martin Berlin, Phil Berman (I), Miles Coffman, Linda Hitzelberger, Robert Hixson (I), Raissa Kirk, James Loesch

Terms: 1 year


Poll hours: 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday, 6410 Few Star Court

Columbia Council candidates: David W. Berson (I)

Village board seats open: 5

Village board candidates: Dina Michels, Kathy Ruben, Ken T. Paynter Jr., Bruce D. Riegel (I), Elliott Cowan (I)

Terms: 2 years


Poll hours: 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Vantage House, 5400 Vantage Point Road, and Town Center neighborhood park (Town Center office at Oakland in case of inclement weather)

Columbia Council candidates: Suzanne S. Waller (I)

Village board seats open: 3

Village board candidates: David Leatherwood (I), Margaret B. Woodworth (I), George H. "Greg" Williams (I)

Terms: 2 years


Poll hours: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, Wilde Lake Village Center

Columbia Council candidates: Norma Rose (I)

Village board seats open: 5

Village board candidates: Michelle Alexander (I), Howard Feldmesser (I), Michael Deets, Gregory Siracusa (I)

Terms: 1 year

NOTES: Each village elects one Columbia Council representative. Anyone over 18 is eligible to vote in River Hill; only one person per household may vote in other West Columbia villages.

(I) Incumbent

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.