A firestorm of cliches

April 12, 1993

"The regulation ignited a firestorm of public anger against United Way . . ." -- news story, The Sun, March 30.

"The original rezoning plan touched off a firestorm of protests . . ." -- news story, The Sun, March 18.

"In recent weeks, a firestorm of criticism has surrounded NBC . . ." -- column, The Sun, March 3.

"Arnick has walked himself into a firestorm of outrage . . ." -- column, The Sun, Feb. 16.

"School rezoning proposal, which set off a firestorm of public criticism." -- news story, The Sun, Feb. 7.

"The firestorms over Zoe Baird . . ." -- Perspective article, Feb. 7.

"Firestorm of public protest over his choice . . ." -- news story, The Sun, Jan. 23.

"Compared with the firestorm of criticism that swirled around him, the Bills' Kelly . . ." -- sports story, Sun, Jan. 18.

"How the publicity and firestorm of criticism may affect sales is something the agency is not willing to predict." -- news story, The Sun, Jan. 4.

"Firestorm of criticism may affect [lottery] sales . . ." -- news story, Evening Sun, Jan. 4.

"It looks as if Cincinnati Reds owner Marge Schott will survive the firestorm of controversy that came down around her . . ." -- column, The Sun, Dec. 20.

"[Norplant] would cause a firestorm of criticism . . ." -- op-ed column, Sunday Sun, Dec. 13.

"Brought a firestorm of controversy down around Cincinnati Reds owner Marge Schott." -- sports item, The Sun, Dec. 2.

"The Senate report has set off a political firestorm . . ." -- Editorial page column, The Sun, Nov. 9.

"Anticipated throw-the-bums-out firestorm fueled by voter anger . . ." -- news story, The Sun, Nov. 4.

"Provoked a firestorm of public and political outrage nationwide . . ." -- news story, The Evening Sun, Oct. 20.

"Mr. Kanemaru has been the object of a firestorm of petition drives . . ." -- news story, The Sun, Oct. 14.

"The document met with a firestorm of criticism . . ." -- editorial page, The Sun, Sept. 24.

Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.