Board forms panel of 15 to plan school calendars

April 11, 1993|By Sherrie Ruhl | Sherrie Ruhl,Staff Writer

Still smarting from its decision to open school before Labor Day for the first time ever, the Harford school board has created a 15-member committee to plan school calendars two years in advance.

The committee replaces a nine-member panel -- three members each from the county teachers union, the Harford County Council of PTAs and the superintendent's office -- that had formerly recommended calendars in January for the coming school year.

The new committee will include: one representative from each school attendance area, a day care provider, the religious community, the county Farm Bureau, which sponsors 4-H, the Chamber of Commerce, the Council of PTAs, the teachers union and the school system.

Superintendent Ray R. Keech recommended the new committee hopes of eliminating some of the controversy over school starting and ending dates.

The next school year will start Aug. 30, the school board decided, to the chagrin of 4-H members, upset that school will conflict with the state fair, which runs Aug. 28 to Sept. 4.

In Harford County, where some 2,000 students participate in 4-H events, infuriated parents had demanded that the board scrap plans to start next school year before Labor Day, just as the State Fair begins. The board refused to reconsider its decision.

Also Monday, the board agreed to appoint a 20-member committee to study redistricting for Aberdeen's four elementary schools: Bakerfield, Hall's Cross Roads, Hillsdale and Roye-Williams. The committee will include one member from Aberdeen's planning department, town commissioners, chamber of commerce and Aberdeen Proving Ground.

Four representatives will come from each school: the principal, a PTA representative, a teacher representative and an "at-large" citizen.

The group's final report is due Nov. 1.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.