Anne Arundel Youth Soccer selects Sides for Sommer...

Recreation roundup

April 01, 1993|By Steven Kivinski and John Harris III | Steven Kivinski and John Harris III,Contributing Writers

Anne Arundel Youth Soccer selects Sides for Sommer Award

Recipient chosen for his leadership

Terry L. Sides of Arnold has been chosen as the second recipient of the Joe Sommer Award presented by the Anne Arundel Youth Soccer League for outstanding leadership and dedication to the sport in Anne Arundel County.

The award, named for former AAYSL president and Crofton resident Joe Sommer, will be presented to Sides on April 14 at the organization's regular monthly meeting at the Winterode Building in Crownsville. Larry Castro of Greater Arnold Recreation Council Inc. was the inaugural winner in 1992.

Sides, a senior systems analyst for the Maryland Ports Administration, served two terms as treasurer of the AAYSL before completing an unexpired term as president beginning in December 1990.

"Terry was the architect of our computer scheduling program, which was a necessity with more than 240 teams playing soccer in five age groups," said AAYSL president Lou Rosenthal. "But he also provided great leadership and direction when the organization was in turmoil."

Youth basketball

* 8-10 boys -- The Severna Park Green Hornets 8-10 boys basketball team improved its season record to 50-4 by defeating Severn, 33-8, in Saturday's first round of the Crofton Tournament.

Joe Burke led the Hornets with 10 points, and Derek Dixon, Gil Goodrich and Jarrod Ross added six points each. Charles Bauer chipped in two points for Severna Park and Richard Tuohey netted one.

David Williams led Severn with four points, four rebounds, a steal and a block, and Bayne Brown had two points, three rebounds and three steals. Daron Paschell chipped in two points, and teammate T. C. Henson had seven rebounds.

Later that day, the Green Hornets "A" team defeated Catonsville, 46-16, in the third round of the Arbutus 8-10 A Tournament.

Dixon led the Green Hornets with 13 points, followed by Burke with 10, Tuohey with seven, Goodrich with six, and Ross and Bauer with four apiece. Burke led all rebounders with 10, and Wagner had six.

The Hornets "B" team advanced to the championship game of the Arbutus B Tournament by defeating Greater Glen Burnie, 34-17.

Deon Gough paced Severna Park with nine points, and Jon Garritt and Bobby West contributed seven and six points, respectively. Gavin Floyd, Lionel Jennings and Trevor Quinn each had four points, and Jennings and Dennis Williams were the top rebounders with six each.

On Sunday, the Green Hornets "A" team advanced to the final of the Arbutus Tournament by overwhelming the Columbia Jaguars, 34-17.

Ross scored a game-high 12 points for Severna Park and Goodrich scored nine, including seven of eight free throws. Burke had five points, Tuohey had four and Dixon and Wagner had two each.

* The Severn Dream Team's 51-6 win over East Glen Burnie Athletic Club on Saturday clinched the Michael Adams Division title, and it finished with a 9-0 record.

Duke Dailey (three assists and two steals) and Louis Benson (six rebounds, three steals) each scored nine points. T. C. Henson contributed eight points, 15 rebounds (breaking his own team record), two steals and a blocked shot.

Travis Holmgren posted six points, four rebounds, two assists and two steals; Eric Comacho had five points and three assists; and David Williams had four points and 10 rebounds. Other contributors were Daron Paschell (four points, five steals, three rebounds, two assists), Feltrin Davis Jr. (four points, three rebounds, three assists, three steals) and Bayne Brown (two points, seven rebounds).

* 7-8 boys -- The Severna Park Green Hornets' 7-8 tournament team won the Arbutus Tournament with two victories last week.

On Tuesday, the Hornets defeated EDRECO, 18-8, to advance to Thursday's championship game, in which Severna Park outlasted Brooklyn Park, 12-2.

Tysheem Jones was the leading scorer for the Hornets, as he tallied 12 points in the two games. Ben Pellicani scored six points in the two contests and teammates Travis Jones, Todd MacMullan and Jacob Baxter scored four points each.

Kyle Dixon and Jon Taylor added two points apiece for the victors, and Taylor led all rebounders with 19.

* 11-12 boys -- Larry Robey's Pistons remained tied for first place with the Celtics in the Lake Shore Youth Basketball League after defeating the Suns, 59-16, and the Bulls, 36-35.

Joey Anarino led the Pistons (8-2) in their win over the Suns with a game-high 27 points and 14 rebounds while playing just 14 minutes. The Pistons had three players in double figures, including C. J. Robey with 12 points and Robert Jones with 10 points and 11 rebounds.

Matt Friedman added six points, including a tap-in after a missed foul shot, and Brian Shepley scored four points.

Anarino paced the Pistons past the Bulls with a team-high 14 points. Jason Rodgers scored 14 points for the Bulls.

Last Friday night, Anarino got into foul trouble early, and the Pistons dropped a 29-26 decision to the Celtics.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.