Showcase set for girls basketball

March 19, 1993|By Kevin Eck | Kevin Eck,Contributing Writer

They were rivals in the Class 4A state girls basketball championship game, but on Sunday they will be teammates.

Anne Chicorelli and Stacy Himes of Old Mill -- which defeated Western, 59-35, for the 4A title Wednesday -- will join the Doves' ++ Kelly Evans on one of the teams competing in the Maryland Women's Basketball Coaches Association Senior All-Star Game at Cole Field House at 4 p.m.

The game, in its second year, features an impressive roster of the state's best senior girls basketball players.

"The purpose of the [MWBCA] is to promote girls basketball in the state of Maryland at levels below college," said Mount Hebron coach Dave Greenberg, the MWBCA president. "The culmination of our efforts we put forth into this game.

"The game is designed to showcase the girls that contribute so much to girls basketball in the hope of getting others involved."

Seniors from every school in the state were eligible, but they had to be nominated by a MWBCA member.

The top 20 players were selected by a committee of high school coaches who then divided the athletes into two teams with the intent of distributing the talent equally.

Other area players joining Chicorelli, Himes and Evans on the Free- staters squad are Kisha Ford (Bryn Mawr), Amy Langville (Archbishop Spalding), Missy Lewendowski (Broadneck), Erin Murphey (Francis Scott Key), Yolanda Matthews (Milford Mill) and Gayle Belz (Mercy).

The Old Liners team is led by Erica McCauley (Mount Hebron), Camille Powell (Howard) and Stacey Milton (C. Milton Wright).

Jay Tulloch (Bullis Prep) and Warren Crutchfield (Sherwood) will coach the Freestaters. The Old Liners will be coached by Glenn Smith (Williamsport) and Diane George (Loch Raven).

At halftime, the Academic All-Maryland Team will be honored. All juniors and seniors were eligible for the team, which recognizes the state's top basketball players who also excel in the classroom.

Chicorelli, Langville, McCauley, Powell, Anne Donovan (St. Mary's), Kacy Williams (Hammond) and Emily Yanero (Mount Hebron) were among those named to the Academic All-Maryland Team.

Tickets to the game are $5 for adults and $3 for students and will be sold at the door. Proceeds will be donated to the Maryland Special Olympics.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.