Four hopefuls seek Leggett board seat 2 challengers have run before

March 09, 1993|By Carol L. Bowers | Carol L. Bowers,Staff Writer

Four people will challenge incumbent Vincent O. Leggett for a five-year appointment to the Anne Arundel County school board.

Joan Urbas, vice chairman of the Anne Arundel County School Board Nominating Convention Committee, said Mr. Leggett would face competition from two people who ran unsuccessfully last year, as well as two new challengers.

She identified the candidates:

* Francis A. "Paco" DeBartolomeo, 39, a National Public Radio satellite technician and father of six. He lives in Tracy's Landing, and campaigned unsuccessfully last year for a seat on the school board.

* Carlesa Finney, 39, deputy chief executive officer for the Family and Community Services Division of the Anne Arundel County Community Action Agency. Mrs. Finney is the mother of two and lives with her family in Glen Burnie.

* Elizabeth Greene, 41, a mother of two and publisher of Harman Woods News, a community newsletter with a circulation of 2,000. A Hanover resident, Mrs. Greene has a law degree from the University of Maryland School of Law and has been a research and quality control technician for pharmaceutical and chemical companies. Mrs. Greene ran unsuccessfully for a school board seat last year.

* Michael Slotterback, 34, an Arnold resident who is an intelligence analyst with Delex Systems Inc. and the father of a 7-month-old girl. He has a teaching certificate and worked as a substitute teacher in his home state of Pennsylvania.

The candidates will be introduced to the public tomorrow night by County Executive Robert R. Neall and the Nominating Convention Committee. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. in Room 110 of the Arundel Center.

The convention's nominees, and the county executive's recommendation, will be sent to Gov. William Donald Schaefer later this spring.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.