5 county girls advance to free-throw championship Recreation roundup

March 07, 1993|By Mike Jefferson | Mike Jefferson,Contributing Writer

Five Harford County girls have advanced to the Knights of Columbus Free Throw Championships, scheduled to take place today at Good Counsel High School in Wheaton.

Erin Updegrove, 14, Kate Blaney, 13, Alison Healey, 12, Jennifer Westervelt, 11, and Page Heath, 10, each won an opening round of competition at Bel Air High and a district competition at Harford Technical High School last weekend to advance to today's event.

Boys soccer

* Under-10: The Edgewood Spirit, after trailing 2-1 at halftime, rallied to defeat St. Stephen's, 5-3, Thursday night at the Maryland Sports Arena.

Ben Beanland (2), Brian Dannenfelser, Megan Moe and Jon Ryan each scored for the Spirit, while Jon Hammel provided the lone assist.

Craig Nearhood and Matt Gaines were in goal for the Spirit.

* Under-14: The Spirit beat Fallston, 6-1, behind two goal performances from Bruce Beagle and Chris Kroner.

Steve Nearhood and Justin Moe also scored, while Robert Gaines, Corky Rider and Nearhood had assists. Moe and Gaines were in goal for the Spirit.

* Under-16: The Greater Harford Soccer Club Thunder opened its second indoor session at Myers Pavilion with a 13-2 win over Harundale SC.

The Thunder led 7-1 at halftime, and never looked back with goals coming from Nick Stratigeas and Chad Sommers (three), Brian Golden and Tom Hamme (two), and Jimmy Baker, Ryan Orsini and Bob Lating (one).

* Under-12: The Genstar Booters won its first indoor championship with a 5-2 win over Forest Hill at the Maryland Sports Arena Wednesday night.

The Booters and Forest Hill were locked in a 2-2 tie at halftime, but Genstar's Jarod Dennis' 27-save performance in the goal and a 3-0 goal spurt in the second half by the Booters was the difference.

Girls soccer

The Bel Air under-10 girls soccer team defeated White Marsh, 3-1, on Sunday in Baltimore Metro league action at Perring Athletic Club.

Monica Janowitz scored twice and Ashley Mitchell once to lead Bel Air. Katie Campbell earned the win in goal.


The Harford Gymnastic Training Center's Level 7 Optional team captured first-place awards at both the Parkette Invitational in Allentown, Pa., on Feb. 21 and at the Winter Wonderland Invitational in Westminster last weekend.

Harford Gymnastics was led by Angela Simmons, 11, and Kristen Grimmel, 10, in both meets as they captured first and second place all-around, respectively, in both competitions.

At the Parkette Invitational, Simmons, competing in the 9-11 age group, was first on vault (8.50), second on bars (8.60) and floor exercise (8.95) and third on balance beam (8.40). Teammate Grimmel was third on vault (8.30), bars (8.50) and floor (8.80). Sherri Doyle finished third on balance beam with 8.40.

At the Winter Wonderland meet, Doyle, Simmons, Grimmel, Kristy Heron, Kelly Storck, Amie Dellone, Jill Weber, Laura Neumann and Lindsay Robbins posted their highest score of the season to capture the team title.

In the 12-14 junior age group, Doyle was a triple gold medalist as she placed in all five events. She captured first in the all-around with 33.90, first on bars with 8.95, and first on vault with 8.1.

Also at the Wonderland meet, Simmons won the all-around with 34.55, including a first-place finish on bars (8.90), while Grimmel was second all-around with 34.0. Robbins won the balance beam event with a personal best of 8.60. Neumann won the bronze medal on bars with 8.30.

* Laura Otto, of Bel Air, competing for the Aberdeen/Churchville Parks and Recreation (ACPR) team, was the Level 5 all-around gold medalist with 35.25 points.

Otto took first place on vaulting (9.25), and third on uneven parallel bars (9.1) and balance beam (8.90). Teammate Dayna Jost, of Abingdon, won the gold on the beam.

Sara Kim, of Churchville, placed second on bars (9.2) and fourth in the all-around (34.30). Crystal Stevenson, of Fallston, was the second place finisher on vaulting with (9.0), while Colleen Powers, of Bel Air, was fifth on bars (9.05) and floor exercise (8.60). Caitlin Smith, of Bel Air, was fifth on balance beam (8.70).

In the 12-14 age group, Becky Strobel, of Aberdeen, won the second place medal on vaulting with 8.85 and the fifth place all-around trophy with a score of 33.7.

In the 7-8 competition held in the afternoon, Angela Ferg, of Bel Air, was the first place winner in the all-around with 32.25. She won gold medals on balance beam (8.45) and floor exercise (8.10). Rachael Baitch, of Bel Air, placed fourth on bars with a score of 9.0. ACPR finished third in both the morning and afternoon sessions.


Aberdeen (364 points) bested seven other teams to win the Harford County Youth Wrestling Champion ships held at Aberdeen High School.

Edgewood finished second with 162 points, edging third place finisher Fallston (161 points). Other teams that competed include Fawn Grove, Bel Air, Joppatowne, North Harford and Hickory. Individual winners include:

Pee Wee

45 -- J. Severn (Ab); 50 -- B. Wagner (Ab); 55 -- D. Parrow (Edg); 60 -- L. Sybert (Edg); 65 -- B. Donahue (F); 70 -- M. Wallace (Ab); 75 -- K. Hasilbeck (F); 80 -- B. Easter (Ab); 85 -- B. Smith (FG); 90 -- S. Farmer (Ab); 100 -- N. Perry (JT); Hvy. -- D. Hough (JT).


55 -- B. Gilmour (Ab); 60 -- M. Adams (Ab); 65 -- A. Isaac (Ab); 70 -- R. Overstreet (Ab); 75 -- R. Adams (Ab); 80 -- J. Schaffer (Ab); 85 -- D. Magraw (BA); 90 -- J. Ishibashi (Ab); 95 -- J. Foy (Ab); 100 -- B. Hess (BA); 108 -- R. Watson (H); 119 -- R. Ferguson (Ab); 130 -- J. Ross (Ab); Hvy. -- M. Goodman (FG).


60 -- C. Hart (FG); 65 -- S. Markham (F); 70 -- K. Brennan (F); 75 -- T. Gurrera (Ab); 80 -- R. Dougherty (Edg); 85 -- T. Russo (Edg); 90 -- R. Desper (JT); 95 -- G. Miller (F); 100 -- A. Durham (Ab); 108 -- K. Holmes (Ab); 112 -- G. Gordon (NH); 119 -- A. Horn (Ab); 126 -- C. Osorie (Ab); 133 -- J. Gurrera (Ab); 150 -- M. Sutphin (F); 170 -- J.Huber (Ab); Hvy. -- S. Volker (BA).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.