Spalding teacher Nemeth wins honor ANNE ARUNDEL SCHOOLS

February 22, 1993

James Nemeth was recently named Archbishop Spalding High School's Outstanding Teacher of the Year.

Mr. Nemeth, a social studies teacher at the school since 1987, is the senior class moderator and coaches varsity wrestling and softball.

According to one parent, Mr. Nemeth "listens, motivates and challenges his students to improve, think and question why."

Mr. Nemeth is now eligible for the Baltimore Archdiocesan Award at the Division of Catholic School's banquet in April.

State sponsors writing competition

The fifth annual Maryland You Are Beautiful Student Literacy Writing Competition is open to students in public schools and participating private schools, grades kindergarten through 12. The students will compete on four levels based on their age.

This year's theme is "Say No To Drugs -- Yes to Success."

Every student who enters will receive discount coupons to Kings Dominion. Twelve finalists will be honored at an awards ceremony with Gov. William Donald Schaefer in May and first-place winners from each level will receive a weekend for four in Annapolis, two-day complimentary passes for four at Kings Dominion and various other prizes.

The competition will run until March 1.

Students will be provided the details of the competition by designated teachers and staff at their respective schools.

Kiwanis Club opens annual writing contest

The Kiwanis Club of Severna Park recently announced its 16th annual Writing Contest for students in grades two through five.

The theme this year is "What Makes My Best Friend Special."

The guidelines for the competition are as follows:

* Entries must be in prose, not exceeding 150 words.

* Theme paper should be used except for younger students using primer paper.

* Entries must be handwritten and include the teacher's name, student's name, grade and school.

* Entries must be postmarked no later than April 9.

First place will be a $100 savings bond; second, a $75 bond; and third, a $50 bond.

Entries may be mailed to: Thomas Beckham, chairman, 835 Woods Road, Pasadena 21122 or to the Severna Park Kiwanis Club, P.O. Box 72, Severna Park 21146.

=1 Information: 360-9325, 544-0202, or 647-5177.

Lothian Elementary gets first computers

Lothian Elementary school was recently awarded the first school computer equipment for the 1992-1993 school year as a result of Giant Food's Apples for the Students program.

The program enables schools to turn in register receipts for free computer equipment.

One of 150 county schools participating in the program, Lothian has collected a total of $1,834,828 worth of receipt tapes since the program began in 1989.

Sponsors sought for exchange students

The Yokohama Academy USA, a Maryland-based nonprofit institution that works to promote understanding and training in foreign language and culture, is seeking families to serve as sponsors for foreign exchange students.

Families or single parents who are willing to sponsor a Japanese high school or university student for the period of July 19 to Aug. 2 can contact Martha Martin at 455-6800.

According to the academy, playing host to an international student "provides your family with an experience in international communication and understanding."

The students will be studying at Anne Arundel Community College during this time, so locations close to the college are preferred.

Harbour School teaches handicapped children

The Harbour School in Annapolis, opened in 1982, is an educational center for learning-disabled and multiple-handicapped children. Students are from Anne Arundel County and neighboring jurisdictions.

It is the only school in Maryland that has nursery through grade 12 for learning-disabled and handicapped students. The fully accredited high school offers a diploma approved by the Maryland State Board of Education.

& Information: 841-6410.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.