THEATERMusical theater debutsLocal director/choreographer...


February 20, 1993|By J. Wynn Rousuck MOVIES Sayles' willful women


Musical theater debuts

Local director/choreographer Todd Pearthree has chosen Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine's challenging fairy-tale musical, "Into the Woods," to launch his new company, the Musical Theatre Machine; it's difficult to imagine a more auspicious debut. The show examines what happens after happily-ever-after, and this clever production will convince you fairy tales can come true. MTM is in residence at the Spotlighters Theatre, 817 St. Paul St. Weekend show times are today at 8 p.m. and tomorrow at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. Tickets are $14. Call (410) 825-2554. "Passion Fish" is a big, messy, wonderful film from John Sayles. It follows a paralyzed soap opera actress and her bouts of will with her nurse, an equally ill-tempered and well-realized character. The setting is rural Lousiana, where May-Alice has returned to rusticate in bitterness. The movie is also roomy enough to let just about everybody in the cast have a big scene fTC or two. The two women -- Mary McDonnell and Alfre Woodard -- are wonderful, and the movie's shambling structure grows on you. R. ***.

Stephen Hunter The young soprano Charmaine Hamann made a stunning debut as the Queen of the Night in Mozart's "Magic Flute" last fall in a Peabody Opera Theatre production. Hamann, the winner of the Sylvia Green Voice Competition, will sing the world premiere of Mark Lanz Weiser's "A Renaissance Serenade" with conductor Teri Murai and the Peabody Concert Orchestra at 8:15 tonight in Friedberg Hall in the Ben and Fortuna Iseman Klotz Memorial Concert. The program includes Mahler's First Symphony and the East Coast premiere of work by Chen Yi. Tickets are $5 (for students and seniors) and $10. For more information, call the Peabody Conservatory box office, (410) 659-8124.

Stephen Wigler

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.