Calvert Hall earns MSA A three-peat Swimming

February 18, 1993|By Tara Finnegan | Tara Finnegan,Contributing Writer

For the third year in a row, the Cardinals rule.

Calvert Hall successfully defended its MSA A Conference Swimming and Diving Championship last night at Johns Hopkins University, winning its third straight conference meet title with a score of 383 points.

And for that, veteran coach Reds Hucht was happy to make a big splash in the Hopkins pool with the help of his team.

"I always try to talk my way out of it, but I can't deny them the pleasure of getting back at me for all the hard work I've put them through," Hucht said.

Loyola (189) finished second in the A Conference, followed by Gilman (165) and Mount St. Joseph (134).

The Cardinals swept the first three places in the 200-meter individual medley with Adam Blake winning the event in 2:01.15, followed by teammates Lou Otremba (2:06.01) and Ryan Horner (2:06.11). They also swept the 50 freestyle, led by Brad Francis, in 21.96.

"It feels good was to come out with a winning season, " Francis said.

Francis also won the 100 butterfly, setting an MSA meet record in 51.41, breaking the former record by one-tenth of a second.

"I'm starting to get psyched up for Eastern's [Eastern Interscholastics at La Salle] this weekend," Francis said. "This is kind of like a gauge. . . . I'd like to drop the time by a second this weekend."

Loyola's Paul Yetter also set an MSA meet record in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:38.30. Yetter also was a winner in the 100 breaststroke in 1:00.87.

Loyola's John Soulakis successfully defended the A Conference title in the 1-meter dive, winning the event with a score of 478.85. McDonogh's Amanda Kuehl won the B title (374.95) and Patterson's Lavon Moody (193.00) took home the C diving title.

In the C conference, Lake Clifton swept the top three spots in the 100 freestyle, with Andrew Gray winning the event in 59.88.

City 's Derek Musgrove took home two B Conference wins in the 50 freestyle (23.40) and the 100 freestyle (52.01).

McDonogh (277) captured the B Conference title and Lake Clifton (296) won the C Conference title.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.