Old Mill puts away Chesapeake

February 10, 1993|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Staff Writer

No. 14 Chesapeake ran into a four-time 4A-3A state champion Old Mill squad that was still smarting from suffering its first dual-meet wrestling loss.

But the No. 3 Patriots (11-1, 10-0) ran into a Cougars squad (8-5, 8-3) that was hungry for an upset in its final home match.

The Patriots won, 45-12, despite trailing 12-10 after six matches.

They rallied with victories in the next seven bouts to put the match out of reach, including pins by fifth-ranked Todd Hultgren (160, 20-5), second-ranked Marc Proccacini (171, 21-3), sophomore Don Patterson (189, 19-4) and junior heavyweight Bob Shaffer. Patterson has 15 pins, followed by Hultgren (14) Proccacini (11) and Shaffer (four).

"I went out there to beat him," said Patterson, who overcame a 5-3 deficit against Chuck McConnell (18-6, 12 pins), who dropped from heavyweight. "I knew it was his first time down at 189, so I knew he'd gas out."

The Patriots' sixth-ranked Rick Oleszczuk (140, 18-3) hung on to edge Rob Zittle (18-6), 7-3, before Ken Seavey (145, 22-6) scored a technical fall and Mike Hines (152) edged Keith Weaver, 7-6.

The Patriots' winning streak ended at 31 Friday against No. 2 North Carroll. They play host to No. 5 Northeast (12-0) Friday in a battle for county dual-meet supremacy.

Old Mill led 13-12 after seven bouts, with the Cougars' Matt Howard (103, 16-6) getting his 11th pin and teammate Ron Alexander (125, 19-4) a decision. The Patriots countered with Jason Bryant's (112, 21-4) major decision and Shawn Radford's (119) decision.

Old Mill's Dave Basta (130, 21-8) -- who trailed 2-0 and 4-2 -- used an overtime takedown for a 6-4 win over Steve Davis (17-6, 11 pins). But Chesapeake's Steve Shirk (135, 14-6) used a third-period reversal for a 4-3 upset victory over the Patriots' sixth-ranked Kevin Seavey (22-5).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.