Coaches' convention spotlights nation's leading players, teams

January 15, 1993|By Paul McMullen | Paul McMullen,Staff Writer

UCLA goalkeeper Brad Friedel and North Carolina forward Mia Hamm were named winners of the 1992 Hermann Trophy yesterday, as Reebok International Ltd., sponsor of the awards, deemed them the most outstanding soccer players in the country.

The announcement was made at the Stouffer Harborplace Hotel, not far from the 46th annual convention of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America at the Baltimore Convention Center.

Friedel won out over Olympic teammate Claudio Reyna, a sophomore who has led Virginia to the past two NCAA titles, and Davidson forward Rob Ukrop.

Friedel, who had 10 shutouts and allowed 10 goals in 19 games this past season, is weighing offers from Nottingham Forest in England and the U.S. national team. "I'm waiting for a work permit [to play in England], then I'll decide between the national team and Nottingham Forest," the 21-year-old from Bay Village, Ohio, said.

Hamm beat out Stanford senior Julie Foudy and teammate Kristine Lilly, who won the award in 1991, when Hamm was off helping the United States win the first World Cup for women. Hamm scored 32 goals and had 33 assists in leading the Tar Heels to a 25-0 record last fall.

Another corporate sponsor announced its Coach of the Year selection yesterday, when the Lanzera National Coaches Committee tabbed Colgate's Mike Doherty. The Red Raiders pTC won their first Patriot League title with a 13-4-3 record.

The spotlight today at the NSCAA Convention falls on the America's movers and shakers. U.S. Soccer President Allen Rothenberg is to give an update on 1994 World Cup preparations this morning, and the afternoon program features national team coach Bora Milutinovic.

The topics on yesterday's program ranged from the tactical to the motivational to the promotional. Many of the 2,100 in attendance caught the presentation by Brazilian national coach Carlos Alberto Parreira, while a hundred or so listened to a panel discuss the topic: "Soccer on Television: Will It Ever Happen."

Local youth coaches can attend the NSCAA convention today and tomorrow. The $50 charge includes a one-year NSCAA membership.

The recognition phase of the convention continues tonight with the Honors Awards Banquet, where nearly 80 coaches from assorted levels will get their due.

Tomorrow morning, the nation's premier high school teams wil be honored at the Gatorade Top 20 breakfast. Vianney of Kirkwood, Mo. was tabbed the best boys' team in the land, with Winston Churchill finishing No. 4 and Calvert Hall No. 8. East Brunswick (N.J.) finished atop the girls' poll, which included No. 6 Centennial.

Also tomorrow (12 noon), over 250 of the more than 420 players named to the NSCAA/Umbro All-America teams will be honored.

Honored players with local ties include Virginia defender Clint Peay, a sophomore out of Oakland Mills who was recently added to the U.S. Under-20 team. He was a second-team Division I choice, as was Maryland freshman Kelly Amonte on the women's side.

Zach Thornton of Essex Community College made the men's junior college first team, and teammate Joe Bailey and Anne Arundel's Jody Haislip made the second team.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.