Chesapeake-AA takes second in Aberdeen Invitational meet

January 10, 1993|By John W. Stewart | John W. Stewart,Staff Writer

Zack Fowl of Aberdeen and Todd Beckerman of DeMatha, each top-rated in the latest Maryland State Wrestling Association rankings, posted impressive victories in the fourth annual Aberdeen Invitational tournament last night.

DeMatha, with five individual champions, won the team title with 175 1/2 points. Chesapeake of Anne Arundel County was second with 145 1/2 , Aberdeen third with 144.

Fowl, a two-time state titleholder, became the event's first four-time champion when he stopped Rob Alexander of DeMatha, 12-6, at 119 pounds.

It was only the second loss in 27 starts this year for Alexander, a freshman ranked fifth in the class. Fowl built a 7-1 advantage in the first period and was not headed in what he called, "one of my toughest matches of the season."

Beckerman, a freshman, ran his record to 25-1 with three pins, including a 29-second fall of Chesapeake-AA's Matt Howard in the final. His fastest pin of the season was 21 seconds.

DeMatha's other winners were Bill McKinney (112), Jerry Sloan (130), Matt Allman (145) and Derrick Gordon (152).

Chuck McConnell clinched second place for Chesapeake when he got a third-period takedown against Aberdeen's Aaron Wanless and went on to a 12-4 heavyweight win.

Chesapeake's other winners were Ron Alexander (125) and Dave Horton (140). Fowl was Aberdeen's only champion. Two teammates, Frank Johnson and David Mumpower, were overtime losers in title bouts.

The other titlists were Maurice Simmons, Edmondson (135); Jamie Mantegna, Dulaney (160); Pat McCleod, Towson (171); and George Kirkpatrick, Dulaney (189).

The only other ranked wrestler in the field was Shawn Kopalchick of Towson, No. 6 at 152, who dropped down to 145 and lost to Allman in the final.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.