Jackson, Niekro, Perez top Hall field

January 05, 1993|By Jim Henneman | Jim Henneman,Staff Writer

Reggie Jackson and Phil Niekro top the list of newcomers and Tony Perez is the leading holdover candidate in this year's Baseball Hall of Fame election, the results of which will be announced tonight.

Jackson ranks sixth on the all-time home run list with 563, and Niekro is 13th with 318 wins. Steve Garvey, who compiled a .294 lifetime average in 19 seasons, is another first-year eligible who figures to draw support.

Among those who are eligible but haven't been elected to the Hall of Fame, Perez is tied for fourth (with Orlando Cepeda) in home runs (379) and second (behind Jackson) in RBI (1,652). A year ago, Perez, who makes his debut as a manager with Cincinnati next season, received 215 of 430 votes -- 108 shy of the 75 percent necessary for election.

If he is elected, Jackson would become the eighth modern-day player who played for the Orioles to go into the Hall of Fame. The others are Frank and Brooks Robinson, Jim Palmer, Robin Roberts, George Kell, Luis Aparicio and Hoyt Wilhelm.

Jackson played one year for the Orioles, 1976, before becoming the marquee player in baseball's first full class of free agents. He hit .277 with 27 home runs, 91 RBI and 28 stolen bases despite missing the first month of the season after coming in a trade from the Oakland Athletics.

Niekro pitched 24 years in the big leagues, the first 20 with the Milwaukee/Atlanta Braves. He recorded his 300th win with the Yankees in 1985, then spent most of the next two years with Cleveland before ending his career with a token appearance for the Braves in 1987. He is fourth on the all-time list with 5,403 1/3 innings pitched and finished with a 3.35 career ERA.

The induction ceremonies will be Aug. 1 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.