No. 13 Chesapeake to defend title in Arundel Invitational Champs return with veterans Wrestling

December 28, 1992|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Staff Writer

The 14th annual Arundel Holiday Invitational will be held dTC tomorrow and Wednesday at Arundel High.

No. 13 Chesapeake, the defending champion, returns county and regional champion Doug Horton (140), who was first last year. It also has Rob Zittle (145, second), along with Steve Davis (130-135) and Steve Shirk (130-135), who were runners-up in different weight classes a year ago. Heavyweight Chuck McConnell (third) and Mark Downey (112, fourth) add depth.

Zittle could see Meade's Mike Walker (fourth last year) in a rematch of their title bout in the Chesapeake Cougar tournament, won by Zittle, 3-1.

After placing fifth and seventh respectively last year, 12th-ranked Dundalk and 10th-ranked Wilde Lake should pose serious threats. In addition, tournament director Buddy Hepfer has invited Independence High of West Virginia. Coached by former Chesapeake and Severna Park mentor, Ed Gilson, Independence had five state champs and four runners-up last year.

Leading the Wildecats are fourth-ranked, three-time Howard County champion Nate Casella (189), and fifth-ranked, county and regional champion Mike Green (171). State runner-up Casella was a tournament runner-up to Arundel's returning sixth-ranked Greg Booth (171), who pinned him in their 171-pound final, and Green (third in the states) did not wrestle.

The Wildecats also have county champ Nick Yoon (119, fourth), Tony Crawford (140, first) and Robert McGrain (160, second).

Dundalk's county, regional and state champion Rick Staab (145,first) leads teammates Joe Marshall (119, second), Bob Hurley (135, third) and 275-pound heavyweight Don Forbes, who did not place after losing a semifinal bout, 5-4, with Glen Burnie's returning runner-up Paul Musil (240 pounds). North County was fourth last year, but returns Dave Thomas (135, third), heavyweight Corey Fowler (third) and James Collins (103, fourth).

The 29th annual Francis Scott Key Holiday Wrestling Invitational will be held tomorrow at Key.

Of the tournament's eight teams, those from the Baltimore area are Bel Air and C. Milton Wright of Harford County, Howard County's Glenelg, Baltimore County's Woodlawn and Carroll County's Liberty.

The fifth-ranked host Eagles (4-0) are soaring. With returning tournament champs in third-ranked Randy Owings (130), Chris Beale (135) and Ed Null (171) -- all Carroll County champs -- coach Bill Hyson hopes to win the event for the third straight year. Liberty returns one champion in Dave Evans (145), as does Glenelg in Jamie Arnsmeyer (125), and Bel Air in Anthony Pasko (135).

Old Mill and Gilman are at the St. Stephens/St. Agnes Tournament tomorrow and Wednesday. In last year's tournament, four-time state champion Old Mill (152.5) beat host St. Stephen/St. Agnes (133.5), and returns runners-up Jason Bryant (112), Todd Hultgren (152) and 4A-3A state champion Marc Procaccini from that squad. Rick Oleszczuk (135, fourth) is also back.

Mount St. Joseph is at University of California (Pa.) Tournament tomorrow and Wednesday. Mount St. Joseph's top-ranked Danny DeVivo (160, fourth) is the only returning place-winner in the 20-team affair.

Loyola, Hereford and North Harford are at Smithsburg's Leopard Invitational Wednesday.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.