Area teams hit the road for holidays Loyola, Hereford, N. Harford travel to Smithsburg event Wrestling

December 28, 1992|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Staff Writer

Several area wrestling teams will be hitting the road thi week.

Loyola, Hereford and North Harford will be at Smithsburg's Leopard Invitational Wednesday.

Loyola's Dave Daniecki could face Smithsburg's top-ranked, two-time 2A-1A state champion Chris Kretsinger, who has pinned his three opponents this season and has a 62-3 career record.

Smithsburg also has Leopard Tournament champs John Noggle (112), Mike McKeever (119), 2A-1A state runner-up Doug Batey (140) and Dave Everhart (145).

Second-ranked Batey (30-1 last year) could meet Loyola's fifth-ranked Greg Smith (12-1), who was fourth in last year's MSA tournament.

Noggle was a regional runner-up with a 28-4 record last year. He could face North Harford's Harford County champion and regional runner-up Brandon Moore, who went 28-5 last year. Moore is unbeaten, including a win in the title bout in the season-opening North East tournament.

Hereford's third-ranked, 2A-1A state champion Jesse Channell (160) will be favored in his weight class.

Old Mill and Gilman are at the St. Stephens/St. Agnes Tournament tomorrow and Wednesday. Four-time state champion Old Mill (152.5) beat host St. Stephen/St. Agnes (133.5) for last year's crown, and returns runners-up Jason Bryant (112), Todd Hultgren (152) and 4A-3A state champion Marc Procaccini. Rick Oleszczuk (135, fourth) is also back.

Mount St. Joseph is at the California University of Pa. Tournament tomorrow and Wednesday. Mount St. Joseph's sole tournament champion of a year ago has graduated, leaving top-ranked Danny DeVivo (160, fourth) as the only returning place-winner in the 20-team event.

The 14th annual Arundel Holiday Invitational will be tomorrow and Wednesday at Arundel High.

No. 13 Chesapeake, the defending champion, returns county and regional champion Doug Horton (140), who was first last year. It also has Rob Zittle (145, second), along with Steve Davis (130-135) and Steve Shirk (130-135), who were runners-up in different weight classes a year ago. Heavyweight Chuck McConnell (third) and Mark Downey (112, fourth) add depth.

Zittle could see Meade's Mike Walker (fourth last year) in a rematch of their title bout in the Chesapeake Cougar tournament, won by Zittle, 3-1.

After placing fifth and seventh, respectively, last year, 12th-ranked Dundalk and 10th-ranked Wilde Lake should pose serious threats. In addition, tournament director Buddy Hepfer has invited Independence High of West Virginia. Coached by former Chesapeake and Severna Park coach Ed Gilson, Independence had five state champs and four runners-up.

Leading the Wildecats are fourth-ranked, three-time Howard County champion Nate Casella (189) and fifth-ranked, county and regional champion Mike Green (171). State runner-up Casella was a tournament runner-up to Arundel's returning sixth-ranked Greg Booth (171), who pinned him in their 171-pound final, and Green (third in the states) did not wrestle.

The Wildecats also have county champ Nick Yoon (119, fourth), Tony Crawford (140, first) and Robert McGrain (160, second).

Dundalk county, regional and state champion Rick Staab (145, first) leads teammates Joe Marshall (119, second), Bob Hurley (135, third) and 275-pound heavyweight Don Forbes, who did not place after losing a semifinal bout, 5-4, with Glen Burnie's returning runner-up Paul Musil (240 pounds).

North County was fourth last year, but returns Dave Thomas (135, third), heavyweight Corey Fowler (third) and James Collins (103, fourth).

The 29th annual Francis Scott Key Holiday Wrestling Invitational will be held tomorrow.

Of the tournament's eight teams, those from the Baltimore area are Bel Air, C. Milton Wright, Glenelg, Woodlawn and Liberty.

The fifth-ranked and host Eagles (4-0) are soaring.

And with returning tournament champs in third-ranked Randy Owings (130), Chris Beale (135) and Ed Null (171) -- all Carroll County champs as well -- coach Bill Hyson hopes to win the event for the third straight year. Liberty returns one champion, Dave Evans (145), as do Glenelg (Jamie Arnsmeyer, 125) and Bel Air (Anthony Pasko, 135), who should challenge Beale.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.