Powel elected director of dairy cooperativeThomas W. Powel...


December 24, 1992

Powel elected director of dairy cooperative

Thomas W. Powel of Union Bridge was elected to a three-year term as a director of Atlantic Dairy Cooperative at the group's recent annual meeting.

A member of the cooperative since 1990, Mr. Powel will represent District 10, which covers the state of Maryland.

Mr. Powel farms with his sister and brother-in-law, Anne and Cam Davis, in a family corporation, Unicorn Associates Inc. They farm 588 acres and milk 150 Holstein cows.

Mr. Powel has a bachelor's degree in dairy science from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, and a master's degree in animal genetics from North Carolina State University.

He is vice president of his local Dairy Herd Improvement Association Board and chairman of the local Sire Power Board and serves on the state Sire Power Board. He also is a member of the Southern States-Taneytown Cooperative board of directors.

Mr. Powel and his wife, Kristin, have two sons, Benjamin, 3, and Matthew, 1.

Atlantic Dairy Cooperative represents more than 3,500 dairy farm families in the mid-Atlantic states.

The Carroll County 4-H Rabbit Club met Dec. 1 and elected these officers for 1993: Jimmy Woods, president; Mike Wade, vice president; Ellen Roche, secretary; Shannon Syzmanski, treasurer.

Other officers are: Shawn Colleran, photographer; Ashley Syzmanski and J. W. Sayre, scrapbook; Andy Hummel, reporter.

Laura Fisher asked members to donate items to Neighbors in Need.

Ashley Syzmanski and Jennifer Wade gave a demonstration on tattooing rabbits.

The next meeting will be at 7 p.m. Jan. 5 at the Carroll County Extension office. Information: 848-4611.


* Westminster: The Horse Force 4-H Club meets at 7 p.m. Dec. 28 Monday at the Carroll County Extension Office, on Smith Avenue. Information: 848-4611.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.