Setters takes the long road to victory S. Carroll wrestler rallies in Cougar Invitational final

December 14, 1992|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Staff Writer

Charles Setters was South Carroll's lone winner after two days of wrestling at Chesapeake High's Cougar Invitational in Anne Arundel County Saturday night.

Teammates Leo Fryrear (189, third), and fourth-place winners Jeff Irvine (119) and Jim Farrell (140) also helped pace South Carroll to a fifth-place finish in the 16-team tournament.

"As a team, it's the best we've done in the last couple years," said South Carroll coach Peter Olson, whose teams have placed third twice and fourth twice in the tournament's seven years. "Charles is only the fifth Cavalier wrestler to win a championship there."

And it was Setters (6-2), a 171-pound junior, who took perhaps the longest road of any of the 13 individual champions.

First, he scored a first-round, third-period pin to upset the top seed from Calvert High in Calvert County.

He followed with tough decisions of 12-4, and 8-6, before his toughest battle -- a wild 16-9, come-from-behind win in the championship bout -- against Walbrook's muscular junior Kevin Forrester.

Forrester had made reaching the final look easy, with a pin, a technical fall and a 13-0 semifinal decision.

Against Setters, he held leads of 2-0 and 4-1, but Setters scored a buzzer-beating five-point reversal to go ahead 7-4 to end the first period.

However, Forrester whittled his way back into the match, tying it at 7 entering the third on an escape and a buzzer-beating takedown. An early reversal put Forrester ahead 9-7 with barely a minute left in the bout.

Setters trailed 9-8 after Forrester was penalized for locking hands, and -- with 35 seconds remaining -- the South Carroll wrestler made his final effort count for a five-point maneuver that landed Forrester on his back for another near-pin.

Among the 85 wrestlers ranked in last weekend's Maryland State Wrestling Association rankings, nearly half (41) were from the area, with 13 from the Maryland Scholastic Association, 10 from Baltimore County, nine from Anne Arundel County, four from Carroll County and three each from Harford and Howard counties.

The Carroll County wrestlers are North Carroll's Doug Dell (103, third) and Jeremy Myers (112, first), and Francis Scott Key's Randy Owings (130, third) and Ed Null (171, sixth).

Francis Scott Key (4-0) has proven itself worth every bit of its No. 4 ranking -- and perhaps even better. The Eagles have beaten their opponents by a combined 214-56 -- that's an average of 53.5-to-14 -- including a 43-20 victory over Howard County's defending tournament champion Oakland Mills over the weekend.

County champions Owings and Null are at the forefront with identical 8-1 records, followed by the team's other county champion, Chris Beale (135, 7-2).

Steve Lessard (119), Zac Yinger (140) and Josh Bonnette (145) have 6-2 records, Jason Hooper (103) and Kristian Hochberg (160) are 5-2, Jamie DeGroft (171) and Dale Bloom (189) are 6-3, and heavyweight Mark Smith is 5-4.

Francis Scott Key's Tony Cahoon (103) and Matt Griffin (125) -- each at 2-4 -- are the only wrestlers in its lineup who have losing records.

Dick Bauerlein's North Carroll squad, will try to defend the McDonogh tournament title it won last year, this weekend. The Panthers will be vying with the likes of an improved No. 3 Randallstown squad, which placed fourth in last year's 4A-3A state tournament, and No. 12 Gilman, which is coming off last weekend's third-place finish in the 23-team Magruder tournament in Montgomery County.

North Carroll cruised past Randallstown, 208-180, last year with three champions and four runners-up. State champ Jeremy Myers (112) will try to defend his tournament crown, and runners-up Andy Kiler (130) and Saidrick Lewis (152) will try to go a little farther.

Wrestling top 15

1. Mount St. Joseph (0-0) 105

2. Old Mill (0-0) 86

3. Randallstown (1-0) 78

4. Francis Scott Key (4-0) 72

5. North Carroll (1-0) 67

6. Owings Mills (3-0) 65

7. Northeast (2-0) 57

8. Boys Latin (1-0) 54

9. Aberdeen (1-0) 47

10. Wilde Lake (2-0) 46

11. Chesapeake (1-1) 40

12. Gilman (0-0) 34

13 Dundalk (1-0) 28

14. Franklin (0-0) 18

15. Westminster (2-2) 14

Other teams receiving votes, with record and points in parentheses: St. Paul's (1-0-1, 11), Calvert Hall (0-1, 10), McDonogh (0-0-1, 5), Hammond (2-1, 4), Loyola (0-2, 2).

How the poll is conducted: The members of The Baltimore Sun's board of coaches for the 1992 season are: Dick Slutzky, Aberdeen; John Mayberry, Broadneck; Steve Carnahan, Oakland Mills; Dick Bauerlein, North Caroll; Dave Langrehr, Randallstown; Paul Triplett, Mount St. Joseph; Lem Satterfield, The Baltimore Sun.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.