S. River's Hairston makes quick work of tourney opposition

December 14, 1992|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Staff Writer

South River's Jaron Hairston used three pins and a major decision to win the title in the Frederick Douglas tournament over the weekend.

He took just 1 minute, 59 seconds to beat his championship-bout opponent, Greg Lawrence of Frederick Douglas, who was coming off of a victory over Wilde Lake's fifth-ranked, 2A-1A state tournament runner-up Mike Green.

"It was like wrestling myself, and I couldn't believe his speed," said Hairston, who improved to 6-0 overall with five pins in leading the Seahawks (1-0-1) to a sixth-place finish in the tournament.

"I couldn't believe that he [Lawrence] beat Green, because Green was a good wrestler," said Hairston, who was third in last year's county and regional tournaments. "He played a mental game with Green, throwing him around and smiling at him. I knew that I'd have a tough match."

Hairston got a wake-up call in his first match, when his opponent from DuVall High first slapped him in the back of the neck, then "hit me with a semi-closed fist right above my eyebrow."

About 15 seconds later, Hairston caught his rival with a lateral drop. Just 22 seconds after that, the referee slapped the mat, signaling the end.

Hairston won his next two bouts by 13-4, and with a fall in 2:44 before facing Lawrence, whom he called "a carbon copy" of himself.

"Most of the time, I don't get taken down by double- or single-legs, but he took me down in the first 15 seconds with a single-leg," said Hairston. "I came up with a switch and somehow, I got him on his back with about a second left to go."

There's a good chance that Hairston could meet Lawrence again in this weekend's Lackey tournament, where Hairston placed third a year ago.

The muscular Hairston finished with an overall 26-9 record last year, with nine of his 16 falls coming in the first period.

Hairston's teammate, 130-pound junior Jamie Reid, won his crown in just 3:44 and also improved to 6-0. "He's going to be a sleeper," said Hairston.

Travis Murdock (112) was fourth for South River.

No. 7 Northeast's runner-up finish to top-ranked Mount St. Joseph offered some pleasant surprises for coach Al Kohlhafer, but they were tempered by the upset loss of regional champion Alan Grunder (160), who missed placing in the top four after losing an 11-8 consolation semifinal decision.

Marty (112) and Mike Kusick (119) breezed to their titles, although Marty had to overcome early deficits to beat Frederick's Sam Henry, 8-4, in his championship bout.

Steve Smiddy (130) required an overtime takedown of Walbrook's George Chandler to win, 4-2.

Jason Grunder (152) rebounded from a semifinal loss to Mount St. Joseph's top-ranked Kevin Neville -- the eventual champion -- by beating Frederick's sixth-ranked Matt Carroll, 8-3, for third place. Carroll was a runner-up in the tournament a year ago.

But the surprises, said Kohlhafer, were freshmen Dale Bowers (103, third) and Chris Morrow (125, fourth). Matt Jewer (135) and Ken Fowler (189) also were fourth.

"Fowler never wrestled before last year," said Kohlhafer. "Those are the kinds of things we like to emphasize."

No. 11 Chesapeake was fourth behind Frederick, the Maryland State Wrestling Association's ninth-ranked team, led by junior Rob Zittle (140), who remained his team's only unbeaten wrestler with his 3-1 win in the championship.

"I was a little nervous out there, but I wasn't worried about being undefeated," said Zittle. "That's not where the pressure is, it's in trying to help the team."

The Cougars (1-1) heavyweight Chuck McConnell avenged a previous loss with his 10-7 semifinal decision of North County's 6-3, 248-pound Corey Fowler before dropping a grueling 7-0 decision to Mount St. Joseph's second-ranked heavyweight Dave Sunderland.

Ron Alexander (125) pinned his way to a third-place finish for Chesapeake, and Mark Downey (112) and Steve Davis (130) were fourth.

No. 2 Old Mill finished third in a 31-team tournament in Virginia, which coach Mike Hampe said "gave the kids a chance to see what the next level is like to see if they can rise up to it."

Marc Procaccini (160) and Todd Hultgren (152) were fourth for the Patriots. Taking fifth were Jason Bryant (112), Dave Basta (125), Kevin Seavey (130), Rick Oleszczuk (135), Ken Seavey (140), Mike Hines (145) and Don Patterson (189).

"I may have the title head coach, but it's my assistant, Jay Braunstein who's got these kids doing things on the collegiate level," said Hampe.

"He teaches them high-percentage moves, the types of things that have allowed us to be so successful over the last three years."

Wrestling top 15

1. Mount St. Joseph (0-0) 105

2. Old Mill (0-0) 86

3. Randallstown (1-0) 78

4. Francis Scott Key (4-0) 72

5. North Carroll (1-0) 67

6. Owings Mills (3-0) 65

7. Northeast (2-0) 57

8. Boys Latin (1-0) 54

9. Aberdeen (1-0) 47

10. Wilde Lake (2-0) 46

11. Chesapeake (1-1) 40

12. Gilman (0-0) 34

13 Dundalk (1-0) 28

14. Franklin (0-0) 18

15. Westminster (2-2) 14

Other teams receiving votes, with record and points in parentheses: St. Paul's (1-0-1, 11), Calvert Hall (0-1, 10), McDonogh (0-0-1, 5), Hammond (2-1, 4), Loyola (0-2, 2).

How the poll is conducted: The members of The Baltimore Sun's board of coaches for the 1992 season are: Dick Slutzky, Aberdeen; John Mayberry, Broadneck; Steve Carnahan, Oakland Mills; Dick Bauerlein, North Caroll; Dave Langrehr, Randallstown; Paul Triplett, Mount St. Joseph; Lem Satterfield, The Baltimore Sun.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.