DeVivo, Neville stay perfect at Annapolis tourney Wrestling notebook

December 07, 1992|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Staff Writer

The season is barely two weeks old, but Mount St. Joseph wrestlers Danny DeVivo (160) and Kevin Neville (152) say their concentration has already been tested.

And if their combined 16-0 record is any indication, they are passing with flying colors.

Although the top-ranked Gaels (169) finished second to Riverdale Baptist (195.5) in the Annapolis tournament over the weekend, the two grapplers found individual success despite the setback for the 17-time defending Maryland Scholastic Association champions.

DeViVo secured an overtime takedown for a 6-4 win over Old Mill's defending state champion Marc Procaccini.

Neville had hoped to meet state champion Johnny Montgomery of eighth-place Randallstown (94 points) in the final, but Montgomery (third place) was upset, 6-2, by Chris Hawkins of third-place McDonough (127). MSA champion Neville downed Hawkins, 10-3.

The Gaels' top-ranked Shane McCarthy (145) dropped a 9-4 decision to McDonough's third-ranked state runner-up Damon Newsome, who had edged last year's champion, Oakland Mills' Adam Seidman (third place), 8-0, in the semifinals. Paul Scott (135) upset Calvert Hall's defending MSA champion Brendan James (third place), 1-0, in the semifinals before losing his championship bout, 7-2, to Riverdale Baptist's Jeremy Young, and second-ranked heavyweight Dave Sunderland decisioned fifth-ranked Alex Berger of Bullis, 6-1, before dropping a 3-0 decision to Walt Whitman's top-ranked Emil Dolzeal.

MSA runner-up David Inkman (119) and Russell Fecteau (125) were third for the Gaels, and Gino Amasia (103) and Shawn King (135) were runners-up for ninth-place Calvert Hall (83 points).

No. 3 Baltimore County champion Randallstown made its first appearance in the 13th annual 18-team tournament, as Kent Morrison dropped a 12-6 decision to Procaccini in a semifinal.

No. 8 Boys' Latin used five individual champions to edge Dundalk, 222-220, and defend its Loch Raven tournament crown.

Tim Berger (112), Mike Harrison (125), Jim Quinn (130), Shane Marquess (135) and Chris Smith (171) won titles.

Dundalk's defending state champion Rick Staab (145), Mike Hurley (140), Rich Estes (160) and heavyweight Don Forbes were titlists. No. 12 Loyola (133) was third in the Meade tournament behind No. 6 North Carroll (204) and Lackey (165) of Charles County. Third-ranked MSA champion Dave Daniecki (189) edged Arundel's county and regional runner-up Greg Booth in overtime,

but Loyola's two-time defending MSA champion Tim Spielman (135) dropped a 10-8 overtime decision to North County's Dave Thomas.

No. 5 Aberdeen edged the host in the Bel Air tournament, 199-189, led by two-time state champion Zack Fowl (119), Kit Doran (140), Chad Guerrera (152), Mike Grant (171) and heavyweight Aaron Wanless, the county champion two years ago.

No. 14 Gilman finished third in the North East (Cecil County) tournament behind Delaware powers Caesar Rodney and St. Mark's, with third-ranked MSA runner-up Gerard Harrison winning its only individual title and MSA runner-up Jamie Biddison (171) and Mark Shavers (160) taking second.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.