Howard County Education


December 07, 1992

HCC students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

Forty Howard Community College students have been inducted into the Alpha Sigma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national junior college academic honorary society.

A student must complete at least one semester of full-time study and maintain an overall grade point average of 3.25 to be considered for election to Phi Theta Kappa.

Columbia residents inducted into the honor society are Candace Roya Azarbal, Stephanie Bickman, Julie Bilbie, Broncine Carter, Laura Chacos, Teresa Ciarrocchi, Rhonda Crawford, David Dyke, Deborah Fletcher, Melissa Lynn Hinton, Bryan Ice, Jenny Josephson, Vera Keiner, Susan Khalili, Alvi Lim, Selena Low, Michael Mohen, Ali Rezuiyan-Nojani, Travis Root, Kristi Saari, Kimberly Webster, Wayne Whitney, Karin Wilson and Carrie Wren.

Laurel residents Cheryl Arrington, Kristina Feazell, and Ericka Meckling; Ellicott City residents Judy Crowe, Sahar Khoury, and Nicole Miles; and Jessup residents Dorothy Jones, George Koval and M. Chris Pendley were also inducted.

Elizabeth Battistello of Elkridge, Randal Dunn of Burtonsville, Laura Glick of Clarksville, Michael Grim of Sykesville, Edward Hockenbroch of Rockville, Sadie Jackson of Fulton and Gina Perilla of Woodbine are also new Phi Theta Kappa members.

Reception to honor retiring board members

Retiring Board of Education members Dr. Karen Campbell and Mrs. Ruth Hutchinson will be honored for their contributions to education and students in Howard County at a reception planned for 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Sunday at the Department of Education building.

The public is invited. Contributions of $5 are requested. Checks should be made payable to Mrs. Julene Crooks, executive assistant to the Board of Education, 10910 Route 108, Ellicott City, Md., 21043.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.