Education Notes Carroll County Education

November 30, 1992

New faculty member joins community college

Barbara Leitherer, an instructor in pre-calculus mathematics and statistics, joined the faculty of Carroll County Community College this fall.

A native of Germany, Ms. Leitherer moved to the United States in 1987. She has a master's degree in math and geography. Her teaching career began in Boulder, Colo., where she taught at a junior high school and part time at Denver Community College.

An avid folk dancer, musician and sportswoman, she belongs to the Verein Deutscher Trachten, a German folk dancing group that performs in the Tidewater area of Virginia. Her other hobbies include playing the violin, skiing and hiking.

Carroll students win safety poster contest

The Pupil Transportation Department recently held a poster contest for National School Bus Safety Week, with the theme "Cross In View -- The Thing To Do" and chose the following students as county winners:

Elementary school age:

* 1st Place: Ryan Miller, age 7, grade 2, Elmer Wolfe Elementary school.

* 2nd Place: Patrick Buenger, age 9, grade 5, Charles Carroll Elementary school.

* 3rd Place: Amy T. Ridinger, age 5, grade 1, Taneytown Elementary school.

Middle school age:

* 1st Place: Dave Higgs, state winner, grade 7, Northwest Middle School.

* 2nd Place: Dawn Harner, grade 7, Northwest Middle School.

Information: 857-5500.

Recycling efforts win honors for teachers

At the November meeting of the Board of Education, four West Middle School teachers were recognized for their efforts in forming a mock corporation, The Dangling Dittos, made up of students and teachers, to recycle materials found in the school.

The group takes its name from used ditto sheets, which are among the items that are collected for recycling. Profits from the recyclables are then used to purchase such items for the school as trees, shrubbery and picnic tables.

The Dangling Dittos were selected by the Paper Recycling Committee of the American Paper Institute as the regional winner in the 1992 Best Paper Recycling Story Contest and the group was awarded a $250 prize.

The teachers are Martha Alban, math; Carla Criss, science; Thomas Hepler, English; Martha Keane, social studies.

The board also recognized four other county teachers:

* Roland Backus, a horticultural teacher at Carroll County Career and Technology Center, awarded a certificate by the Maryland Agriculture Teachers Association at its state conference in July for outstanding achievement in horticulture.

* Robert Foor-Hogue, who teaches chemistry at South Carroll High, awarded the 1992-1993 Presidential Award. Besides receiving a cash stipend, Mr. Foor-Hogue will share model lessons and teaching expertise with other national winners.

* David Miller, supervisor of Career and Technology Education, served on a panel at the Eastern Regional Agricultural Education Conference, where he spoke about the new agricultural education program in Carroll County. He also received the Blue and Gold Award for meritorious service to agricultural education and the Future Farmers of America last June.

* Richard Weaver, awarded a certificate by the Maryland Agriculture Teachers Association for his innovations in teaching agriculture.

Distinguished scholars are recognized

Carroll County high school seniors who performed exceptionally in the Distinguished Scholar Program by demonstrating a potential for academic success were honored in ceremonies Nov. 11 at Francis Scott Key High School.

Nominees were evaluated by their grade point average in academic subjects and SAT scores.

Honored students were:

* Francis Scott Key: finalist, Shane Shaffer; semifinalists, Anthony Becker, Christy Boesler, Linda Brown, Robin Carroll; honorable mentions, Trish Adams, Jennifer Baker, Michelle Black, Rebecca Buntin, Sherry Crumbacker, Allen Dawson, Timothy Fuss, Aslynn Hinkle, Shelley Smith and William Stonesifer.

* Liberty: finalist, Katrina Hill; semifinalist, Brian Gilsdorf, Christina Primavera, Brandon Schreiner; honorable mention, Laurel Carichner, Carly Carter, James Cawlo, Pamela Eng, Brian Holland, Carine Jelinek, Cindy McCloskey, Melissa Meehan, Tamara Mitchell, Jennifer Simmons and Laura Veise.

* North Carroll: finalists, Jennifer Miller, Sara Simantel; semifinalists, Rebecca Jones, Meghan Moore; honorable mentions, Jarrod Clink, Deborah Fleming, Jason Matthews, Michael Roberts and Jamie Swam.

Those honored for talent in the arts were:

* FSK: Sheri Bickerton, finalist, drama; Kimberly Brooks, honorable mention, visual arts; Linda Brown, honorable mention, instrumental music.

* Liberty: Cindy McCloskey, honorable mention, instrumental music; Megan Wauhop, honorable mention, visual arts.

* NCHS: Rebecca Jones, semi-finalist, instrumental music; Stacey Krumrine, honorable mention, visual arts; Jennifer Miller, honorable mention, instrumental music.

A group of students also was recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program for their academic talents. They were:

* FSK: commended student, Shane Shaffer.

* Liberty: semifinalist, Kati Hill; commended students, Jason Greigo, Cindy McCloskey, Brandon Schreiner, Laura Veise,

* NCHS: commended students, Nichole Barner, Kristen Bolster, Erin Bonning, Eric Lyga, Jennifer Miller, Meghan Moore, James Swam, Shannon Walter.


Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.