Carroll County Education

November 30, 1992

Carroll students excel in academics and arts

The following Carroll County high school students have been honored for their academic achievement, talent in the arts or ranking in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The Distinguished Scholar Program honors Maryland high school students who demonstrate a potential of academic success in higher education. Nominees are evaluated according to grade-point average in academic subjects and scores on Scholastic Achievement Tests.

The National Merit Scholarship program recognizes academically gifted talented U.S. high school students.

Coupled with SAT scores and satisfaction of other eligibility standards established by the National Merit Scholarship Corp., the nation's top high school graduates compete for scholarships to accredited colleges and universities.


* Francis Scott Key High School

Shane Shaffer, finalist.

Anthony Becker, Christy Boesler, Linda Brown and Robin Carroll, semi-finalists.

Trish Adams, Jennifer Baker, Michelle Black, Rebecca Buntin, Sherry Crumbacker, Allen Dawson, Timothy Fuss, Aslynn Hinkle, Shelley Smith and William Stonesifer, honorable mention.

* Liberty High School

Katrina Hill, finalist.

Brian Gilsdorf, Christina Primavera, Brandon Schreiner, semi-finalists.

Laurel Carichner, Carly Carter, James Cawlo, Pamela Eng, Brian Holland, Carine Jelinek, Cindy McCloskey, Melissa Meehan, Tamara Mitchell, Jennifer Simmons and Laura Veise, honorable mention.

* North Carroll High School

Jennifer Miller and Sara Simantel, finalists.

Rebecca Jones and Meghan Moore, semi-finalists.

Jarrod Clink, Deborah Fleming, Jason Matthews, Michael Roberts and Jamie Swam, honorable mention.


* Francis Scott Key High School

Sheri Bickerton, finalist, drama.

Honorable mentions are Kimberly Brooks, visual arts, and Linda Brown, instrumental music.

* Liberty High School

Honorable mentions are Cindy McCloskey, instrumental music, and Megan Wauhop, visual arts.

* North Carroll High School

Rebecca Jones, semi-finalist, instrumental music.

Honorable mentions are Stacey Krumrine, visual arts, and Jennifer Miller, instrumental music.


* Francis Scott Key High School

Shane Shaffer, commended.

* Liberty High School

Kati Hill, semi-finalist.

Jason Griego, Cindy McCloskey, Brandon Schreiner and Laura Veise, commended.

* North Carroll High School

Nichole Barner, Kristen Bolster, Erin Bonning, Eric Lyga, Jennifer Miller, Meghan Moore, James Swam and Shannon Walter, commended.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.