Six teams take divisions in playoff action

November 29, 1992|By Mike Jefferson | Mike Jefferson,Contributing Writer

Six Harford County rec football teams won divisional championships in the Harford/Baltimore Football League playoffs last weekend.

The Edgewood/Joppatowne program earned three Division A championships.

* 9-11 -- Edgewood/Joppatowne defeated Aberdeen, 19-6, to win the championship.

Quarterback Samuel Aiken connected on a 45-yard pass to Matt Baldwin for the first score. Offensive MVP Kory Keels scored on runs of 4 and 50 yards, and nose guard Glen Braxton was Edgewood/Joppatowne's defensive MVP.

* 10-12 -- Edgewood/Joppatowne earned a 7-0 win over Middle River-A. Dorian Cunion, Edgewood/Joppatowne's offensive MVP, blocked a Middle River punt in the first period and then scored on a 20-yard run on the ensuing drive.

Nathaniel Morallis saved a potential Middle River score in the third period, tracking down a Middle River runner after a 60-yard gain. Marcus Anderson was defensive MVP.

* 11-13 -- Edgewood/Joppatowne defeated Edgemere, 23-8.

Mark Scott and Sean Adams scored on runs of 42 and 65 yards, respectively, and quarterback Charles Horner had a 1-yard touchdown. Edgemere scored late in the second half.

Edgewood/Joppatowne nose tackle Mike Sabcheck was named defensive MVP, and Scott, who also kicked a two-point conversion, was named offensive MVP.

* 8-10 -- In Division B championship finals, Fallston defeated Bel Air, 6-0, after Ryan Kyle intercepted on a Bel Air fourth-and-two situation and ran the ball back 96 yards for the game-winner.

Kevin White, J. D. Rainey, Mike Gonano and Keith Clark made key blocks as Kyle raced down the left sideline with just over one minute remaining in the game. Kyle was named Fallston's offensive MVP and Justin Van Pelt the defensive MVP.

* 9-11 -- Bel Air edged Towson, 13-12. Bel Air scored its first touchdown on a play set up by a fourth-and-five 10-yard run from quarterback Adam Rafalski. Don Neville ran 10 yards for the touchdown.

The game was tied 6-6 at the half, but Bel Air took the lead in the second half. Rafalski connected to Chris Reynolds for an extra point that proved to be the game-winner. Rafalski was named the offensive MVP and Bob Evans was named the defensive MVP for Bel Air.

* 12-14 -- Jarrettsville shut out Lutherville, 31-0. Matt Sutphin, offensive MVP, scored on an interception, and on runs of 45 and 60 yards. Jim Esserwein scored a 45-yard touchdown.

Josh Lathrop was named defensive MVP.

Girls soccer

* Under-14 -- The Harford United Flash (26-2-2) won the under-16 Brooklyn Park Tournament and the under-14 Baltimore Metro Classic Tournament at Patterson Park.

On Sunday, the Flash defeated the South River Hurricanes, 6-1, and the Benny and the Jets, 4-0, at the Andover Recreation Complex to win the Brooklyn Park Tournament.

Goals in the victories were scored by Karen Tiedemann (four), Danielle Konschak (three), Jenn Cook (two) and Shanna Ziegenfuss (one).

Assists were provided by Haley DeLaurence (two), Ziegenfuss, Cook and Cindy Wolf (one).

The Flash earned the Baltimore Metro Classic title with a 6-1 triumph over the Keith Van Eron Sports Pros under the lights at Utz Field on Monday night.

DeLaurence scored 20 seconds into the game to spark a 4-1 halftime lead. She also closed the scoring after goals by Tiedemann, Konschak, Ziegenfuss and Steck, while Cook, Wolf and Nicole Froman provided assists. Katie Bowman was in the goal for the Flash.

Also contributing for the Flash were defenders Jennifer Kar--, Lauren Porter and Katie Tiburzi, halfbacks Lauren Hess and Krysten Martin, and stopper Brooke Stastny.

Boys soccer

* Under-12 -- The Genstar Booters (3-0) defeated Fallston, 9-2, Wednesday night in indoor soccer

action at the Maryland Sports Arena.

Anthony Huczek led the team with a hat trick, Brent Haberkam added two goals, and Alex Markiewicz, Steve Adolph, Dan Magee, and Giovanni Juliam each scored once.

Assists were contributed by Steve Markiewicz (three), Huczek (two), Haberkam, Adam Limback, Julian and Alex Markiewicz (one). Jarod Dennis and Ryan Nayden combined for 34 saves. Defense was played by Chris Johnson, Christopher Szwec and Alexander Ioannidis.


The Bel Air Middle School's Thanksgiving Turkey Run last Monday featured over 230 students racing a 1 1/4 -mile course. Winners were: * Eighth grade -- Lauren Hafer, 7 minutes, six seconds; Justin McAndrew, 6:36.

* Seventh grade -- Meredith Eyler, 7:15; Ben Skurdal, 6:33.

L * Sixth grade -- Rachel Rodick (8:16); Jason Kemper, (7:16).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.