Carroll Western circuit honors its best of 1992


November 29, 1992|By MUPHEN WHITNEY

The members of the Carroll County Western Circuit had a chance last weekend to reflect on the successes of 1992.

TC At the organization's annual awards banquet the champions in 12 divisions reaped the benefits of a long and competitive season.

Sally Eck, the CCWC's secretary for the fourth year in a row,

managed her organizational duties along with competing successfully for two division championships. Eck's awards were in the Showmanship/Horsemanship and English Pleasure A divisions.

"It was a lot of work," Eck said. "Especially getting up at 5 a.m. to bring the horses in and clean them up. Jennifer Derry [who won the Division A Hunter championship] and I did it all ourselves every other Sunday [for the shows], but it was worth it last Saturday."

Eck's horse, Ty Dy, is an Appaloosa mare Eck has had for four years. Although Eck and Ty Dy did not compete in the jumping classes at the shows, they won their English Pleasure division title with exceptional performances in the command class.

Ty Dy's coloring was only one of the things that attracted Eck.

"I always wanted an Appaloosa and she had the color that I wanted. All those spots! But she also has a heck of a personality and she is very versatile," she said.

At the awards ceremony at Frock's in Westminster, division awards were presented, and the top four competitors in more than 60 classes received year-end ribbons.

There were also some new and special awards this year.

Melissa Johnson, 6, and Jennifer Johnson, 9, of Westminster, received special awards of plaques with blue ribbons for the help they gave at all the shows in handing out ribbons and doing gate duty.

Lauren Weishaar and Dry Scotch received the American Quarter Horse Association's Outstanding Award for the High-Point Quarter Horse in the CCWC.

A perpetual trophy, donated by Mark and Val Laird of Maple Grove Appaloosas and Becky and Allan Schmidt, was given for the first time this year to the Foltz family in memory of Wanda Foltz.

This year's Carroll County Western Circuit 1992 Division champions were:

Showmanship/Horsemanship: Sally Eck.

Pre-Youth: Laura Cugle and Little Star.

Performance, Division A: Allan Schmidt and Pine Deluxe.

Performance, Division B: Lisa Baublitz and W. T. Twister.

Performance, Youth Division: Drew Arconti and Maximum Request.

English Pleasure, Division A: Sally Eck and Ty Dy.

L English Pleasure, Division B: Lisa Baublitz and Head Bender.

English Pleasure, Youth Division: Lauren Weishaar and Dry Scotch.

Hunter, Division A: Jennifer Derry and My Buddy Baxter.

5) Hunter, Division B: Lisa Baublitz and

Head Bender.

Speed, Division A: Melissa Lawrence and Rafracus Rajah.

Speed, Division B: Carey Fish and Butterscotch.

For more information about the Carroll County Western Circuit or their show series, call Sally Eck at (410) 239-7885.

Calendar of events

Nov. 29-30 -- Dressage clinic with Erik Herbermann, Equilibrium Farm, Gambrills, (301) 721-0885.

Nov. 29 -- Jumping clinic with Anne Kursinski, Shadowbrook Farm, Elkridge, (410) 796-4947.

Nov. 29 -- All-day clinics with David O'Connor, Maple Spring Farm, Glenwood, (410) 442-2295.

Dec. 1 -- Carroll County Equestrian Council general meeting, East Middle School, Westminster, 7:30 p.m., (410) 833-4593.

Dec. 3-6 -- Dressage clinic with Erik Herbermann, Equilibrium Horse Center, Gambrills, (301) 721-0885.

Dec. 5 -- Maryland Pleasure Horse Seminar, South Carroll High School, Taylorsville, (410) 848-4611.

Dec. 12-13 -- Instructors' workshop with Jo Struby, Shadowbrook Farm, Elkridge, (410) 796-4947.

Dec. 18 -- Clinic with David O'Connor, Maple Spring Farm, Glenwood, (410) 442-2295.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.