Four teams win intramurals in handball WEST COUNTY--Crofton * Odenton * Fort Meade * Gambrills


November 24, 1992|By VICKI WELLFORD

More than 100 boys from three handball leagues participated in an intramural competition in September and October at MacArthur Middle School.

The Thunder captured the Division I championship. Team members are Scott Kendall, David Love, Matt Nein, Justin Patton, Phillip Slye, Tiawan Somerville, Steve Spurlin and Brock Tapp.

Division II co-champions were the Warriors and the Terminators. Warrior team members are Bernardo Perdomo, Mark Hammersly, Billy Johnson, Earl Wilkerson, Charles Ellis, James Sutton, and Tarnardo Sharps.

Terminator members are Ace Ner Custodio, Joe Kalinowski, Victor Lachapel, Jeremy Meade, Carlos Pons, Isaac Sperry and Marlin Taylor.

The Division III winners were the Mustangs: Chris Anderson, Stephen Diviaio, Steven Goforth, Kevin Goforth, Steven Hill, Kenneth Kilby, Chris Roberts and Tony Sanchez.


The Fort Meade Retired Officers' Wives' Club will conduct its monthly luncheon at 11 a.m. Dec. 1 at the Fort Meade Officers' Club. The First Army Soldiers' Chorus will present a program of traditional and contemporary Christmas music. Club members also will sell handmade crafts.

Reservations are required by noon today. The cost is $8. For more information or to make reservations, call chairwoman Althea Freeman, (410) 551-8826, or assistant chairwoman Lucille Simms, (301) 776-4048.


Faith Community Church in Gambrills will conduct a Ladies Christmas Luncheon and Craft Workshop at 10 a.m. Dec. 5.

The guest speaker is Nancy Cole, who will demonstrate how to make Christmas doorstops. Bring a covered dish or dessert, glue gun, scissors and a friend. A nursery will be provided.

Information: (410) 672-2698.


Troop 227 members Jessica Jackowski, Katie Matheny and Erin Owen have been working on their Girl Scout Silver Awards. They have been making new chrismon decorations and repairing old ones at Nichols-Bethel United Methodist Church in Odenton.

The girls have enlisted the help of parents, family members, friends, troop members and the Nichols Bethel youth group. The group spent 119 hours making 122 chrismons and repairing 134.

Members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of the Ascension in Danville, Va., created the chrismon tree in 1957. Their idea has spread to Christian churches all over the world.

Tiny white lights and white-and-gold chrismons are placed on an evergreen tree, a symbol of eternal life. The name chrismon is a combination of Christ and Monogram.

The chrismons are old and new symbols of Christianity.


New Student Government Association officers have been elected at Arundel Middle School. They are: Victoria Vint, president; Nikki Braxton, vice president; Lukas Esop, treasurer; and Stephanie Rinehart, secretary.


Good news about the Advanced Placement English scores at Arundel High School. Ninety-four percent -- 17 out of 18 students -- earned a score of three. Three students -- Raina Bien, John Hollywood and Christine Woods -- received a top grade of five.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.