2A-1A teams capture All-Star games Soccer

November 23, 1992|By Rich Scherr | Rich Scherr,Contributing Writer

For five members of the Loch Raven girls soccer team -- a 1-0 double-overtime loser to Oakland Mills Saturday night in the Class 2A-1A championship game -- there was a tomorrow, after all.

And it came yesterday.

The Raiders' Christina Bontempo, Stephanie Compton, Michelle DeJuliis, Shelley Klaes and Becky Sutton helped the Class 2A-1A stars to a 3-2 win over the Class 4A-3A stars in the Baltimore County Senior All-Star Game at soggy Catonsville Community College.

For DeJuliis, getting ready to play "the morning after" was a tough chore, but one she felt was important.

"It was real hard to get pumped up," said DeJuliis. "Last night was a tough loss . . . I think it's probably going to stay with me forever. But I didn't mind coming out here. It's the last game I'll ever play in high school."

DeJuliis helped get the 2A-1A team on the board early in the first half, assisting on a goal by Sparrows Point's Carrie Falkenham to give the 2A-1A team a 1-0 lead just 3:05 into the game.

It stayed that way until the second half, when Hereford's Joanna Sawyer and Holly Finley each scored goals to counter those from Dulaney's Meg Truxel and Holly Read, for the 3-2 final.

The 2A-1A stars were winners on the boys' side as well. After falling behind, 1-0, on a goal by Franklin's Eric Monroe early in the game, the team answered with goals from Rasmus Keinicke of Owings Mills and Steve Dorfler of Hereford for a 2-1 win.

Dorfler, scoreless as a sweeper during the regular season, scored an unusual goal.

Playing halfback for the first time, Dorfler sent a slow roller toward the goal that skipped and skidded through three defenders and off a fourth into the goal 12 seconds before the end of the first half. "It feels pretty good to score," said Dorfler.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.