* Chektec of Baltimore and Forensic Technologies of...


November 23, 1992

* Chektec of Baltimore and Forensic Technologies of Annapolis won Best of Show awards at the Philadelphia Mid-Atlantic Venture Fair.

Public service

* Donald E. Wilson, M.D., was named chairman of the National Advisory Council of the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research. Dr. Wilson is dean of the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

* The Maryland Hall Foundation board of trustees selected the following officers for the coming year: C. Fred Delavan, secretary; Allen C. Shay, treasurer; Robert W. Hoffman, annual fund drive chairman; Ruth Dukkony, nominating chairman; Maria Baker, major donor reception chairman; and Carole C. Cochran, fund-raising event chairman.

* T. Joyce Jordan was appointed chairperson of the Advisory Board on Aging for the Office of Aging in Harford County. Ms. Jordan is associate professor of nursing at Harford Community College.

* Cyndi Brandt was elected to the board of trustees as a young trustee for Goucher College. Ms. Brandt is marketing coordinator for Budd, Burke & Ottenheimer, P.A.

* Donald E. Wilson, M.D. was named to the National Advisory Committee for The Fellowship Program in Academic Medicine. Dr. Wilson is dean of the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

* Steven W. Sachs was elected to the Self-Insurance Educational Foundation board of directors. Mr. Sachs is vice president, risk management services, Hobbs Group Inc.

* Regina E. Herzlinger was elected to Manor Care Inc. board of directors. Ms. Herzlinger is the Nancy R. McPherson professor of business administration at Harvard Business School.

* Leland Sanborn and Patricia Perluke were elected chair and vice chair, respectively, of the Harford Community College board of trustees.

* Lawrence M. Lichtenstein, M.D., Ph.D., was named president-elect of the American Academy of Allergy and Immunology. He is director of the allergy and clinical immunology division at the Johns Hopkins Asthma and Allergy Center.

* William Schreyer was appointed to the board of trustees of the Enterprise Foundation. He is chairman of the board of Merrill Lynch & Co. Inc.

* Diane Becker, Martha Hill, Ph.D., R.N., and Joann Rodgers, M.S. have been selected as members of the American Heart Association's National Science Promotion and Education Working Group. These Johns Hopkins women are the only non-physicians to have been selected.

New accounts

* Arc Studios Inc. has been hired to design and build a new first floor for the Pratt Street restaurant, Wharf Rat-Camden Yards. And the firm was also hired to handle design and construction management for an addition to the Chesapeake Center in the Brooklyn area of Baltimore.

* Pell Communications Inc. was named the agency of record for Activewear Outlet.

* RDA Consultants Limited has been selected to work with Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. to provide technical software support in the design and development of Conserve 2000. The

program is designed to involve indi

vidual and business consumers in saving energy.

* North Charles Press' new clients for third quarter of 1992 are: Francis Scott Key Medical Center; Drs. Albelson & Cameron, P.A.; Norrisville Elementary School; Greta Bay Distributors; Northern Virginia Association of Realtors; Judaic Creations (New York); Raise Inc.; Fidelity Title and Deposit Co. of Maryland; Maleson & Naylor Advertising; Garron Plastics Corp.; RBL Industries; Graphic Expression; Tate Access Floor; Devaney & Associates; Vartta Inc.; and Warren Anderson, AIA.

* Trahan, Burden & Charles Inc. was named agency of record for Williams & Wilkins, the chief publishing arm of Waverly Inc.

* Cornerstone has been selected to develop a media advertising campaign for the B&O Railroad Museum.

Trade organizations

* The Consulting Engineers Council of Maryland elected the following officers for 1992-1993: president, Thomas F. Hintz, KCI Technologies; vice president, Cathy S. Ritter, Constellation Design Group; secretary, Foster J. Beach III, Century Engineering; and treasurer, Devindar S. Sidhu, Sidhu Associates.

* The Maryland Lead Paint Poisoning Commission named Francis X. Borgerding, Bruce Campbell, and John B. Colvin to its board. All three are members of The Home Builders Association of Maryland.

* The Advertising and Professional Club of Baltimore Inc. re-elected Sheldon G. Dagurt, Esquire, president. Mr. Dagurt is with the Baltimore law firm of Fedder and Garten Professional Association.

* American Business Women's Association, Freedom Chapter, elected the following officers for 1992-1993: Deborah Knight-Kerr, president; J. D. Timmons, vice president; Veronica Best, recording secretary; Ethel Brown, corresponding secretary; and Edna Mosley, treasurer.

* The Association of Accounting Administrators elected its 1992-1993 officers as follows: Barbara Herbst, president; J. D. Timmons, vice president; Debbie Buchheit, secretary; and Carol Townsley, treasurer.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.