Caution helps Eash to Turkey Shoot Out victory Motor sports

November 22, 1992|By Neil Lippy | Neil Lippy,Contributing Writer

Cris Eash, a former Woodbine resident now living in Hanover, was feeling the heat on lap 18 of the 25-lap annual Turkey Shoot Out on Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Lance Dewease was one second behind and bearing down fast. A spinout on the third turn caused Dewease to collide with another driver, and the caution flag gave Eash the cushion he needed to win his second Shoot Out.

Darren Eash of Westminster was fourth and won the Trackside magazine Hard-Charger Award at Lincoln's final event of the season. He received a $175 gift certificate from Sportswear 500, and his brother Cris also was a heat winner. Westminster's Corky Stull was fourth in his heat and 15th in the feature race for Thundercars.

At 75-80 Dragway, Norman Wagner of Hampstead won the motorcycle competition, Taneytown's Gene Belt was runner-up and Dave Belt was a semifinalist for the last race of the season.

Rodney Kuhns of Hampstead was a semifinalist in Class I in his Camaro. Jeff Tabler of Mount Airy was a quarterfinalist.

In Class II, Sykesville's Roger Jorss, driving his Chevelle, was a semifinalist.

Jarrod Spicer was a runner-up in his The Next Generation dragster at the Mason-Dixon Dragway for the Jr. Dragster division. Spicer ran a 15.21 ET on a 15.00 dial-in.

Schedule of events

* Lincoln Speedway, Hanover, Pa.: Tickets are on sale for the 1992 awards banquet Jan. 16 at 6:30 p.m. at Porters Fire Hall Activities Center in Porters Sideling, York County. Information: (717) 624-2755.

* Mason-Dixon Dragway, Hagerstown: Today is Turkey Day, featuring a full field of NHRA Championship Drag Racing, offering Super-ET, Heavy, Motorcycle trophy and Jr. Dragster classes. Gates open at 10:30 a.m. with time trials starting at noon, elimination and show at 3 p.m. Information: (301) 791-5193.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.