Six to enter Western Md. Hall of Fame

November 13, 1992

A Norwegian native, a former college president and one of Western Maryland College's most outstanding wrestlers are among the six athletes who'll be inducted into the college's Sports Hall of Fame tomorrow.

Odd Haugen of Honolulu, Sherry Fischer Manning of Charleston, W.Va., and Gary Scholl of Bel Air will join Arthur "Otts" Broll of Greenville, Del., Donald Honeman of Westminster and C. Harry Bush of Basking Ridge, N.J., in the hall's Class of 1992, which brings its membership to 94.

The annual banquet and induction ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. in the college's Decker College Center Forum.

Haugen, born in Tingvoll, Norway, was a three-sport student-athlete at Western Maryland.

The physical education major, who graduated in 1973, won Mason-Dixon and Middle Atlantic Conference titles in the shot put and discus, and still holds the MAC shot put record at 55 feet, 1 1/4 inches.

In football, Haugen was a three-year starter at defensive end and was the Green Terrors' place-kicker.

He also competed with the wrestling team for two seasons in the heavyweight class. He is now the president of Gym/Masters Inc., a chain of West Coast health clubs.

Manning, president emeritus of Colorado Women's College, played basketball and field hockey at Western Maryland after attending Howard High.

The 1965 graduate in mathematics earned a master's of science degree in math at William and Mary, and the doctorate in management science from the University of Colorado. Western Maryland presented Manning with an honorary doctor of letters degree in 1979.

Manning is now CEO of a firm that buys telecommunications products and services for colleges, universities and independent schools.

Scholl won four Mason-Dixon Conference titles while competing in the 130- and 134-pound weight classes, and was honored as the conference's outstanding wrestler in 1970.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.