Loyola rolls, 7-0, moves to MAAC final Men's soccer

November 08, 1992

Loyola's soccer team will get an opportunity to avenge the only defeat it has withstood in four years in the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference today (2 p.m.), when it meets Fairfield in the MAAC tournament final at Curley Field.

Second seed Fairfield, which beat Loyola, 2-0, on Oct. 21, was a 2-1 winner over Manhattan in yesterday's first semifinal. The Greyhounds (15-4-1) then romped past Iona, 7-0, their sixth straight shutout in MAAC tournament play since 1989 and the 41st of goalie Shawn Boehmcke's career.

Loyola, which is 34-1 since entering the MAAC in 1989, scored twice in the first eight minutes against Iona (5-13) and led, 5-0, at the half. Bill Wnek got his team-leading 13th goal with just 4:17 elapsed. Freshman Will Cirrincione, who began last week with no goals, had his second straight two-goal game.

Fairfield (7-5-4) got the game-winner from Shawn Mahoney with 8:56 gone in the second half, and Andy Tennant made four late saves to subdue Manhattan (4-10-3).

Region XX semifinals

Bob Montalbano and Archbishop Curley grads Joe Bailey and Jim Virts scored goals as host Essex Community College (13-3-1) defeated Montgomery-Rockville to advance to the final of the Region XX tournament for the third straight year.

In today's (1:30 p.m.) championship at Essex, the Knights will meet Allegheny-Pitt, which beat Anne Arundel, 2-1, in the other semifinal. Anne Arundel (15-6) led on Jody Haislip's first-half penalty kick, but Allegheny-Pitt (17-1-2) got second-half goals from Paul Kapral and John Blatz following corner kicks.

Frostburg State 2, Wilkes 0

WILKES-BARRE, Pa. -- Freshman Tom Gould and Kregg Hanowell scored goals as Frostburg State (13-7) defeated host Wilkes (11-6-3) in an ECAC Division III South semifinal. The Bobcats advance to today's (1 p.m.) against Dickinson, a 2-1 winner over Franklin & Marshall 2-1.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.