South Carroll relaxes, defeats T. Johnson, 3-0

November 07, 1992|By Glenn P. Graham | Glenn P. Graham,Staff Writer

The South Carroll field hockey team successfully defended its Class 3A, Region III title with a comfortable 3-0 win over visiting Thomas Johnson yesterday.

Junior Tracie Didio scored two goals and senior Patti Duffy had an insurance goal early in the second half for the Cavaliers (7-2-5). South Carroll will play Kenwood (7-1-2), a 1-0 winner in double overtime over Franklin yesterday in the Region II title game, in the state semifinals Wednesday at 3 p.m. at Goucher College.

"It was great to have a win like this after struggling throughout the season and barely getting by in a lot of games," South Carroll coach Stacy Stem said. "We did a lot of good things today and it looks like the team is starting to peak."

South Carroll dominated the first half, but couldn't get anything by goaltender Robin Sines until six minutes remained, when Didio got a feed from April Hall and walked in along the left side. Sines had seven saves at the point, including four in a row in a South Carroll flurry midway through the half.

Duffy made it 2-0 18 seconds into the second half. She carried the opening tap inside Thomas Johnson territory and fired a shot past Sines from 10 yards. Sines got a piece of the shot, but it carried into the cage.

Thomas Johnson had a number of chances turned back by a strong South Carroll defense led by goalie Katrina Crew, who had six saves.

Didio scored her second goal of the game midway through the second half, slapping a shot past Sines in front to make it 3-0.

Stem isn't quite sure how the Cavaliers, the defending Class 3A state champions, excel at playoff time, but he isn't complaining.

"I really don't know what it is," he said. "One thing is a lot of the kids have been there before and know how exciting it can be."

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.