Upset sends Loch Raven to semis, 2-1

November 07, 1992|By Katherine Dunn | Katherine Dunn,Staff Writer

Kim Allen and Robyn Harry scored in the first 10 minutes to lead No. 14 Loch Raven to a 2-1 upset of No. 12 Fallston in the Class 2A-1A, Region III girls soccer championship last night.

The visiting Raiders (10-3) scored 1l on their first two shots of the game and played excellent defense the rest of the way.

Allen's goal, on a feed from Mary Edwards, came a little more than three minutes into the game. Harry added hers on a cross from the right.

The Raiders dominated the first half, out-shooting Fallston (9-4), 8-3.

At halftime, Raiders' coach Lou Menegatti said he thought about going with a double-sweeper formation for the second half. Instead, he chose to keep his lineup -- two strikers, four halfbacks and a diamond defense -- intact.

He kept sweeper Shelley Klaes, who was doing just fine by herself.

The Raiders' defense looked even more impressive in the second half when Fallston dominated the early minutes.

The Cougars took four shots in the first 10 minutes, but they only threatened once. The Raiders' defense, especially Klaes, Christina Bontempo and Christa Verleger, upset all the early threats.

Fallston finally got on the board with 12:39 left in the game. Cindy Jenkins booted a free kick to the net where Joanna Rocchio sent it to her sister Laura, who put it in the net.

A few minutes later, Fallston came close again with Beth Blasi on a breakaway. But Klaes won the ball and the Cougars didn't threaten again.

Danielle Maliszewski, the Cougars' backup keeper, kept the Raiders from adding another goal in the final two minutes. Edwards beat the defense for a one-on-one shot, but Maliszewski made a terrific diving save to thwart the effort.

The Raiders now advance to the Class 2A-1A state semifinals for the second year in a row.

The next game is set for Friday.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.