Three area pros to be inducted into hall

November 01, 1992|By John W. Stewart | John W. Stewart,Staff Writer

Three longtime Baltimore area professionals will be inducted into the Middle Atlantic PGA Hall of Fame during the organization's annual awards banquet Nov. 13 at Rolling Road Golf Club.

The election of Andy Gibson, retired professional at the Country Club of Maryland, Carl Rasnic, formerly of Fort Meade GC, a past president of the MAPGA, 1966-68, and executive director of the MAPGA, 1984-86, and the late John Bass, head professional at Clifton Park GC and later Pine Ridge GC until his death in 1981, will bring to 19 the number so honored.

The Middle Atlantic Section also has announced its award winners for the year, a list headed by Mike Ahrnsbrak of Shenandoah Valley GC, named professional of the year.

The selection of Bill Strausbaugh of Columbia CC as the teacher of the year made him eligible for the national honor, and the National PGA has since announced the Baltimore native as its national award winner. Chosen from among six finalists, Strausbaugh is now a three-time winner of the award.

Teaching has long been a focal point of Strausbaugh's career, and January will mark the 36th consecutive year the former head professional at Fountain Head CC and Turf Valley CC has been involved with PGA education seminars. He believes that golf is over-taught and under-coached, saying, "Teaching is short-term and coaching is long-term."

Strausbaugh, 69, who has conducted seminars in Europe and Japan as well as this country, had been honored previously at the national level as the golf professional of the year in 1966 and the teacher of the year

in 1983. In 1979, the PGA named its national club relations award the Bill Strausbaugh Award.

l Completing the list of Section honorees are Rick Miller, Carper's Valley GC, the Horton Smith Award; Tom Barry, Jefferson Lakeside CC, Bill Strausbaugh Award; Jon Stanley, Burning Tree Club, assistant professional of the year; Paul Gooden, CC Staunton, Junior Golf leader; Bill Horney, Wakefield Valley GC, Dave Quelland, Ocean City Y&CC, and Glenn Brown, Westwood CC, merchandisers of the year; Steve Nemeroff, the Dave Wortman Citizen of the Year; and George Taylor, retired golf writer of The Evening Sun, the Earle Hellen Golf Writer Award.

Inter-club honors

Keren Packo was honored as the winner of the Champion of Champions tournaments and Mary Ann Kohles was cited as the most improved player during the recent awards lunch for the Baltimore 9-hole inter-club group at Baltimore CC.

Maryland Golf & CC and Rolling Road GC shared the team honors for points, as Maryland Golf edged Chartwell CC, 21-20, for the George Taylor Trophy, and Rolling Road outlasted Maryland Golf, 21-19, for the Brooklawn Trophy, each award based on season-long play.


The fall meeting of the Middle Atlantic PGA will be held tomorrow at Westpark GC in Leesburg, Va. . . . The Fred Funk Golf Classic for the benefit of Children's Favorite Things will be held tomorrow at Hunt Valley GC.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.