County drivers excel at Pa. competition


October 11, 1992|By STAN DILLON

One of the highlights of the local drag racing season was the 17th annual the Firestone/TNN National Hot Rod Association Northeast Division Bracket Finals at the Maple Grove Raceway in Reading, Pa.

Last weekend, more than 800 drivers from 18 Division I race tracks on the East Coast and Canada completed in the three-day championship. Final eliminations were in the racing categories of Class I, Class II and Motorcycle E.T.

That honor has gone to the 75-80 Dragway team five of the 16 years. But 75-80 hadn't won since it captured three straight team titles in 1986-1988 and narrowly missed making it four in a row in 1989 when it lost to Beaver Springs Dragway, Pa., by four points.

After finishing 10th in 1991, 75-80 improved significantly with a third-place finish in the finals. The host track won the championship, its first.

The championship concludes a season of weekly point events that determine the individual teams.

The championship started last Friday night with the Tournament of Champions event where the No. 1 driver from each track competed. On Saturday and Sunday, the teams squared off against each other.

Carroll County drivers made up most of the three teams representing the Monrovia track.

In Class I, 10 of the 18 drivers representing 75-80 were from Carroll County. In Class II, 11 of the 18 drivers were Carroll countians and six of the nine riders in the Motorcycle Class were from Carroll County.

Drivers from Carroll County who made the team in Class I (cars with elapsed time of 0 to 11.99 seconds) and their final place in the standings include: 3, Russell Barefoot, Mount Airy, Camaro; 4, Joe Mayne, Mount Airy, dragster; 5, George Hoff, Westminster, Datsun; 6, Ray Lewis, Woodbine, Camaro; 9, Rodney Kuhns, Hampstead, Camaro.

Also, 12, Bobby Spielman, Taneytown, Pinto; 13, Charlie Spielman, Taneytown, Torino; 14, Chuck Taylor, Westminster, Pinto; 15, Larry Hoff, Westminster, Mustang; 17, Joe Henry, Mount Airy, Camaro.

Barefoot, Mayne, Bobby Spielman and Larry Hoff were on the last championship team.

In Class II, (cars with elapsed time of 12 seconds or slower), Carroll County drivers who made the team were: Roger Jorss, Sykesville, Chevelle; 2, Tom Humm, Taneytown, Falcon; 3,Chris Hruska, Mount Airy, Mustang; 4, Steve Hoff, Sykesville, Mustang; 7,. Mike Stambaugh, Union Bridge, Fairmont; 8, Rick Waxter, Westminster, Baracuda.

Also, 9, Scott Chasen, Taneytown, Falcon; 15, Scott Lowman, Woodbine, Chevelle; 16, Corey Hess, Taneytown, Mustang; 17, Jim Peddicord, Westminster, Mustang; 18, Jamie Talbert, Taneytown, Vega.

The Carroll County riders who made the team in the motorcycle class are 3, Dave Belt, Taneytown, '89 Suzuki; 4, Norman Wagner, Hampstead, '81 Suzuki; 5, Malcolm Ford, Westminster, '92 Suzuki; 6, Marvin Ford, Westminster, '87 Kawasaki; 7, Gene Belt, Taneytown, '83 Suzuki; 8, Marion Ford, Hampstead, '87 Suzuki.

At Mason-Dixon Dragway, Woody Etzler of Mount Airy, Plymouth was fourth in Class I for the year. In Class II, Ed Talbert of Lisbon, Camaro finished fourth and Greg Etzler of Mount Airy, Baracuda, finished 10th. Brian Fandel of Mount Airy finished fifth in the motorcycle division on a '75 Kawasaki.

Mason-Dixon was second last year and was eighth last weekend.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.