Five organizations honored by chamber

September 30, 1992|By Amy L. Miller | Amy L. Miller,Staff Writer

Carroll's Chamber of Commerce gave five Business and Education Partnership awards to organizations that have supported county technical education.

"With the current state of the economy, it is very important that we prepare our students for the future," said business and education Chairman Scott Manhoft as he presented the awards at the chamber's "Hats Off" breakfast meeting yesterday.

The winners of the monthly recognition were:

* Carroll County General Hospital, for being the primary clinical site for practical nursing students; offering an annual student award based excellence and two $2,000 scholarships to graduates; sponsoring medical career days, a resume workshop and job shadow opportunities; and creating a community television spot promoting literacy.

* Jeff Barnes Chevrolet, for supporting the Junior Achievement program.

* Carroll Independent Fuel Co., for donating equipment to the diesel mechanics program at the Carroll County Career and Technology Center and for supporting vocational education in the county.

* Cambridge Instrument, for providing free aluminum, brass and steel to county machine-shop classes, hiring students in the work experience program and providing guest lecturers for the job orientation program.

* Sykesville Rotary Club for providing the Advanced Opportunity Award for vocational students and giving financial and personal support to the Students Helping Other People club at Liberty High.

The chamber also recognized four businesses for long tenure or expansions at the breakfast. They include:

* Tevis Oil, for its 60th anniversary.

* Dean's Restaurant, 30 years.

* Random House, 25 years in Carroll County.

* Prestige Cable, for expanding its offices to the Englar Business Park and its services to the county.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.