Open space policy panel appointed

September 30, 1992

County Executive Robert R. Neall appointed an eight-member committee yesterday to help create a county policy on acquiring and maintaining public open space land.

Open space land is broadly defined as property on which development is restricted. Part of the committee's job will be to come up with a more precise definition.

Mr. Neall convened the committee after he was approached by several environmental groups concerned by the absence of a county policy.

As recently as two years ago, the county received money state money to buy open space. The state doesn't have the money to continue the program, but environmental groups want a policy in place if funding is resumed, Mr. Minnette said.

The committee appointees include: Norman A. Berg of Severna Park, a Washington representative of the Soil and Water Conservation Society; Pamela F. Bush of Lothian, special projects and planning supervisor for the Maryland Environmental Trust; James Coulter of Davidsonville, former secretary of the Maryland Department of the Environment; Robert F. Hunt of Annapolis, retired vice president and technical director of Trident Engineering Associates, Inc.; William B. Moulden of Sherwood Forest, a science teacher; Debra Lee Osborne of Edgewater, director of the Chesapeake Lands Project for the Trust for Public Land.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.