* Heneson and Scarlett relocated its law offices to 201 N...


September 21, 1992

* Heneson and Scarlett relocated its law offices to 201 N. Charles St. in Baltimore.

VM Systems Group Inc., a Vienna, Va.-based developer of computer software, formed a subsidiary in England in Swindon, Wiltshire.


* Jeffrey Hart won the $10,000 Engalitcheff Prize from the Young America Foundation, a non-profit educational organization in Herndon, Va. Mr. Hart, an English professor at Dartmouth College in Hanover, N.H., a syndicated columnist and a senior editor of the National Review, won the award for upholding academic standards and opposing the politicization of campus life. The award is named for the late John Engalitcheff, a Russian immigrant who left Russia after his parents died. Mr. Engalitcheff settled in Baltimore, where he built a pharmaceutical company.

Dr. Clifford F. Thies was named a Bradley Resident Scholar by The Heritage Foundation in Washington. Dr. Thies, an associate professor of economics and finance at The University of Baltimore, started serving a five-month term at the foundation to develop an economic model forecasting the impact of choice in education on metropolitan economic and community development.

* Pat Cucina of Pasadena received an award from Mary Kay Cosmetics for $32,000 in retail sales.


* Ann K. Murray was named to the board of the Visiting Nurse Association of Baltimore Hospice Inc. Ms. Murray is director of development for Harbor Hospital Center.

United Way of Central Maryland named the following to the Campaign Cabinet for the 1992 Anne Arundel campaign: vice chair, Loaned Executive Program/Campaign Cultivation, Danny M. Fullerton, vice president and regional manager, Nationwide Insurance; vice chair, Leadership Giving/Campaign Cultivation, Rudy P. Lamone, dean, University of Maryland Business School; division chair, Public Sector/Education, Robert Russell, chief of police, Anne Arundel County; division chair, Banking & Finance, Carl A. TenHoopen Jr., chairman, Annapolis Bank and Trust Co.; division chair, Retail & Hospitality, Tom Negri, general manager, Loew's Annapolis Hotel; division chair, Prospects, Bob Carlucci, president, BCS Inc.; division chair, Manufacturing/Trade, Ed Jackson, group vice president, ITT Research Institute; division chair, Professionals, John "Jock" Hopkins, president, Admiral Cleaners; division chair, Individuals, Art Silber, president, Sterling Bank and Trust; division chair, Retirees, Admiral Bill Lawrence.

Lynn Wintriss was elected to the board of directors of the Maryland Society to Prevent Blindness. Ms. Wintriss is chair of the Trusts and Estates Department for Semmes, Bowen & Semmes, a law firm in Baltimore.

Stephen G. Chandler was named chairman of the Annual Giving Campaign for Baltimore County General Hospital. Mr. Chandler is supervisor of technical services for Baltimore Gas and Electric Co.


* TeamPerfect, a regional training and development firm, established its headquarters at 7188 Cradlerock Way, Suite 160, in Columbia.

Writer's Ink Ltd., a provider of marketing communications services, opened at 5 N. Main St., Suite 10, in Bel Air. Barry Russo is president, August Russo is vice president-creative services and Robert Russo is vice president-sales and marketing.


* Prudential Health Care Plan of the Mid-Atlantic was selected as the recommended provider of health insurance for the Health Facilities Association of Maryland Service Corp.


* Anne Arundel County Bar Association elected Christopher L. Beard president; Timothy E. Meredith, president-elect; Sara H. Arthur, secretary; David A. Simison treasurer; Christopher P. Brown, Nancy Davis-Loomis, James A. McGuire, Stephen P. Krohn and William D. Roessler, trustees.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.