Four countians go to Naval AcademyFour Carroll Countians...


September 06, 1992

Four countians go to Naval Academy

Four Carroll Countians have been inducted into the U.S. Navy and are attending the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis.

They are:

* Navy Midshipman 4th Class Joshua D. Horner, son of Joshua S. Horner of Hampstead and a 1992 North Carroll High School graduate.

* Navy Midshipman 4th Class Cynthia A. Dieterly, daughter of John F. and Miriam T. Dieterly of Westminster and a 1992 graduate of Westminster High.

* Navy Midshipman 4th Class Jeffrey S. Dixon, son of William F. and Martha F. Dixon of Westminster and a 1992 graduate of Westminster High.

* Navy Midshipman 4th Class James P. Adams, son of Lynn V. Clarke of Eldersburg and a 1988 Liberty High School graduate.

They and more than 1,200 classmates are being taught basic skills in seamanship, sailing, close-order drill, hand-to-hand combat and Navy customs and traditions.

K? As plebes (freshmen) they began classes on Aug. 24 after re

turning from summer training cruises throughout the world with the Navy and Marine Corps.

After graduating from the U.S. Naval Academy, the four-year undergraduate college of the Navy, they will receive a bachelor of science degree and will graduate as commissioned officers.

Katherine Hyer re-enlists on ship

Navy Petty Officer 3rd Class Katherine H. Hyer, daughter of Robert E. Hyer and Nancy R. Robertson of Westminster, recently re-enlisted for four years while serving aboard the hospital ship USNS Comfort, which has Baltimore for its home port.

The 1978 graduate of Westminster High joined the Navy in March 1987.

Navy apprentice reports for duty

Navy Seaman Apprentice Michael J. Seal, son of David L. and Janet S. Seal of Mount Airy, recently reported for duty aboard the aircraft carrier USS Constellation, with its home port in Philadelphia.

5) He joined the Navy in September 1991.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.